The Difference a Day Makes

July 31, 2008

Well, friends: it’s over. The Bar Exam is over. And I just have to thank you all for putting up with my yammering on about it for two months—even on a daily basis recently. And more than that, thanks for all your well wishes. Each one was a little glimmer of happy in what was otherwise a not-so-fun few days. But after you’ve been so patient, so thoughtful, so all-together wonderful, I have just one more favor to ask of you.

Do you remember how I’ve been saying for the last two days that we’d return to our “regularly scheduled” programming today? And do you know how said programming involves some photos, a story and always, always, a recipe? Well, I’m hoping if I ask nicely, you’ll permit me just one more non-recipe post? Pretty please?

(Click “more” for the rest of the non-recipe—sigh—post.)

Because last night, there was champagne. Delicious, crisp, fizzing, festive champagne. And there was a warm summer night. And there was a pizza delivered and a salad too (what? You haven’t heard that champagne pairs nicely with pizza? Well, my friend, perhaps this post isn’t so useless after all!). And there was a Cubs game on the radio up on the deck. And there was a stroll for some ice cream. But there was no cooking, no blogging.

All that said, I promise (no really, I swear) that we will indeed return to the recipes and such tomorrow. I know, because this morning I am absolutely itching to get back into the kitchen. I had visions of peaches and blueberries and tomatoes dancing through my head last night. And I’m already eyeing the cookbooks and food magazines I want to haul with me later today when we set out for a little roadtrip, heading toward Minnesota, its perfect summer, and four of my favorite people in the world. Oh, I only just woke up (slept in ’till almost 7!!!) and I like today already. See you tomorrow!

11 Responses to “The Difference a Day Makes”

  1. Maggie Holt Says:

    Congratulations!!!! It’s over!!! (can’t wait for more posting though – my breakfasts have been decidely less enjoyable without delicious pictures to look at – although that champagne looks pretty great too…and it’s only 8.30 am…)

  2. Amy Says:

    CONGRATS, Kristin!!! What a milestone! Hope your next few days are full of celebratory things!
    PS – what a gorgeous mosaic table in that picture…πŸ™‚ –Amy

  3. katie Says:

    pizza and champagne have been part of so many celebrations in my world! it really is a fantastic combination.

    congrats on getting done!!!

  4. Whitney Says:

    Congrats! I think I enjoyed seeing the beautiful pictures of the bubbly. Enjoy the rest of your summer. I can’t wait to be in your shoes (363 days and counting :P)

  5. GS Says:

    Good for you! The satisfaction of an academic achievement can be as gratifying as a good recipe! You must be over the moon!!!


  6. Congrats on another milestone reached! Now you can really enjoy the summer.

    My husband and I celebrated our first anniversary with pizza and Krug, so I know just how good the combo can be.πŸ™‚

  7. Emily Says:

    Congrats, Kristin! Your celebratory evening sounds wonderful! Have a great time in Minnesota, and let us know when you get back!

  8. Dragon Says:

    Congrats on finishing the bar exam! That’s a quite an achievement.πŸ™‚

  9. Alex Rihm Says:

    You deserve a day off from food blogging after the experience that is the bar exam, so enjoy it!

  10. grace Says:

    many, many congratulations–i know it’s a huge relief to finally be past that! you totally deserved some champagne and greasy, delicious pizza, as well as some time off.πŸ™‚


  11. Maggie: Thank you! Sorry about the hit your breakfasts took. I hope to return the deliciousness to your daily granola bar very soon.

    Amy: Thanks! The previous owners of our condo left that table behind and I love it too.

    katie: I’m glad you agree!

    Whitney: Oh, it’s nice to be here, but I envy your position too. Third year is nice.

    GS: Yes, I am!

    amy: Our first anniversary is next Monday and I think a pizza/bubbly repeat might be in order.

    Emily: Thanks!

    Dragon: Thank you!

    Alex: Thanks!

    Grace: Thank you!


Leave a Reply

