A New Tradition

August 11, 2008

I made this cake pretty hurriedly yesterday afternoon. We had an appointment in the morning and then an early dinner with Kevin’s family, so I had a small baking window in the afternoon and I was all business. After tersely measuring, sifting, beating and pouring, I tucked the batter-filled cake pans into the oven and set about the task of cleaning up after myself (the worst part of baking, by far). Somewhere between clearing the counter of a cloud of cocoa and flour and returning the ingredients to their resting spots in the cupboard, smells began to waft from the oven.

It was the kind of aroma that stopped me dead in my tracks, and not just because I’m a sucker for all things warm and chocolate. No, this particular scent snapped me out of all-business mode and transported me back in time, to a year ago almost to the date. As I’ve already written on this site, I made cupcakes for our wedding, which was last August 11, one year ago today. I made this mini-cake version of the cupcakes yesterday, to celebrate our anniversary, and the chocolately oven emanations had me recalling the last time I’d made the cakes, in the same corner of our kitchen, on the eve of our wedding.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, the recipes and some wedding photos.)


Photo by S1 Photography

Yesterday was actually a day full of memory lane-ing (one my very favorite pastimes). That early morning appointment was with our wedding photographer, the amazingly talented Oscar, to plot out our (very belated) album. During our meeting, Oscar delighted us with a slideshow of photos from our wedding and it felt a little bit like reliving the day. We savored some memories that we re-visit often—the look of sheer terror on Kevin’s mother’s face as she was hoisted into the air during the horah (even after my step-father, a horah novice, went all look-ma-no-hands during his spin on the lofted chairs); the lone tear that spilled over while I read my vows to Kevin; the incredible heat of the night that seemed only to fuel the party, rather than sending everyone to the nearest oscillating fan; being showered with incredible words of love and laughter by our parents, my sister and Kevin’s best man, Seth; boogey-ing like our dancing shoes would be lost forever at the stroke of midnight.

But, maybe even better, the slideshow also unearthed some memories that had already gotten fuzzy in the shuffle of time. One of those was directly linked to the cupcakes I baked the day before our wedding and iced the very morning of our wedding—and then baked again yesterday. I had nearly forgotten that during the all-important cake cutting moment, Kevin took his fork, sunk it into a cupcake, carved out a hefty bite, and lifted it up for the first bite. His first bite. Not mine. Oh, no. He eschewed the traditional feed-your-bride tradition and went ahead and chowed right on down. Here was my reaction:


Photo by S1 Photography

What can I say? The man is a good eater—just one of the many, many reasons why I love him. As the wave of baked deep chocolate smells washed over me yesterday, I thought about some of the other reasons, about some of my favorite moments from this weekend one year ago, and about the future: the year after year that I’ll be able to bake some version of these cakes in celebration of our anniversary. Delicious thoughts, all.

Click here for the Chocolate Espresso Cupcakes with Bailey’s Buttercream recipes. For the mini-cake pictured in this post, I halved the recipe and made three small (4 3/4″) cakes, which I baked for 20 minutes. I had about four cupcakes worth of batter leftover. I also halved the buttercream recipe.

28 Responses to “A New Tradition”

  1. Kevin Says:

    Wow, I was the worst groom in the world. Maybe if they didn’t look so good I wouldn’t have pulled that little stunt off. So, see, its your fault.

    Happy anniversary!

  2. Amanda Says:

    Your pictures are simply stunning. A year goes by so fast and I bet looking back is kind of like a time warp. Like, wait, that was a year ago?! Good thing you have a wonderful slideshow to look back on… And the fact that husband of yours snabbed a bite of cupcake before you proves that he is a keeper. Sometimes a guy has gotta take the first step, right? haha ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy anniversary!


  3. Happy anniversary! I sympathize with your first-bite-of-cake situation; my husband refused to feed me cake (or to eat any himself) in front of the photographer!

    Here’s to many, many more cupcake-filled years in your future.

  4. eggsonsunday Says:

    Happy 1st Anniversary, Kristin! From the pictures above, it looks like you had an incredibly elegant and special day, and I am *so* impressed that you made all those cupcakes for your wedding. Sounds like Kevin is a keeper, with his love of your cooking (among many other fine qualities, I’m sure)! Best wishes for many wonderful years ahead for you both. ๐Ÿ™‚ –Amy

  5. GS Says:

    Happy anniversary to the both of you! And thanks a lot…here I sit with teary eyes and a goofy smile!:-)

  6. Ali Says:

    Happy Anniversary! I wish we could do it all over again, it was truly one of the most specail days. Love you both!

  7. Dawn Says:

    Beautiful bride, beautiful story. One year to choose photos for your wedding album? Pshaw, that’s nothing. I finally got around to pulling together our wedding album…almost 13 years after the happy day. Up until then, our photos were housed in a huge box that we sifted through on occasion. What can I say? We were busy, our photographer was a photojournalist friend who did our wedding as a gift (so we had no “follow up” appointment like most couples do), and, well… time just slipped away. The album made for a great Christmas gift, though. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Congratulations on your first wedding anniversary — and here’s to the many more I’m sure you and Kevin will enjoy in the future!

  8. Amy Says:

    I wish you’d been around when I got married, I want little cupcakes in pannetone wrappers!
    Happy Anniversary!

  9. nicole Says:

    Happy anniversary! What great pix! And the cake looks divine.

  10. Kelly Says:

    Happy Anniversary! Chocolate cake sounds super. You were a gorgeous bride!

  11. suzannemarya Says:

    Happy Anniversary to you both! What a beautiful, delicious wedding that was…

  12. patty Says:

    Happy Anniversary Kristin and Kevin! I have to agree with Kevin, the wedding cupcakes did look pretty amazing…

  13. Louie Says:

    I don’t really like cake, but I love frosting (which I’m convinced is a cruel trick that god has played on me). I’m tempted to go home and bake this tonight…and happy anniversary (pass it on to Kevin too!).


  14. Love the pictures…thanks for sharing! The cake and cupcakes look sooo good!

  15. brilynn Says:

    Those look awesome, I could see why your husband would feed himself first, especially with Bailey’s buttercream on top!


  16. Kevin: Apparently you have learned to say all the right things in the last year. Well done.

    Amanda: Thanks! You’re right—it’s been a very fast, but very wonderful, year.

    Amy: Well let’s hope you at least got cake off camera?

    Amy: Thanks! I’m still a little dismayed I made those cupcakes too.

    GS: Thank you! There were lots of tears and goofy smiles on the actual day, so I suppose your reaction is fitting.

    Ali: So, it’s too soon to renew our vows? Shoot.

    Dawn: Well, I don’t feel quite so belated now!

    Amy: I was obsessed with those liners. They weren’t the most functional cupcake vessel, but they were pretty.

    nicole: Thanks!

    Kelly: Thank you!

    Suzy: Thanks! I’m still so glad you guys were made the trip for it.

    patty: Ha! Thank you! And (I think) this is your first comment, so welcome!

    Louie: Cruel trick, indeed. There’s no shame in whipping up a bowl of frosting, right? Or, even if there is, who cares?

    My Sweet & Saucy: Thanks!

    brilynn: Oh that Bailey’s buttercream. So decadent. So good.

  17. joythebaker Says:

    Such a beautiful post! Happy Anniversary! I LOVE the picture of hubby digging into the cupcake before feeding you. Classic! I absolutely love this post and the cake looks incredible!


  18. […] This recipe looks absolutely amazing. ย Check out the darling post, recipe and photos by visiting Kristin at The Kitchen Sink. ย  […]

  19. diane (mom) Says:

    I was there for the cupcake mission and they were as fabulous as they look.Congrats on your anniversary Kristin and Kevin….all of our love and good luck go with you always!Yes, I would love to have the whole weekend all over again. Love, MOM

  20. Molly Says:

    Well Happy Belated Anniversary! Somebody is slacking with her dates… please forgive me! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you had a great trek down memory lane. I’m glad I could be a part of the big day! Love to you both. xx

  21. Becky Says:

    the pictures of you and your husband look so nice! and these cupcakes look amazing!


  22. oneshotbeyond: Thank you.

    Joy: Thanks! And thanks for posting to Food Find Daily too.

    Mom: Me too.

    Molly: Thanks! You are hereby forgiven.

    Becky: Thank you!

  23. Louie Says:

    So ever since I saw this posting, I’ve wanted to make this cake. I don’t know why, like I said, I’m not the hugest cake lover – and worse I actually don’t like chocolate cake. But for some reason, this looked too good. It also gave me the excuse to finally buy a kitcken aid mixer (which I did on an impulse buy at Target on Monday).

    The frosting is delicious, loved the Bailey’s taste. Cake construction is not for amateurs – I think I need to watch at least another 5 episodes of Ace of Cakes before I try to make another cake.


  24. Louie: Congrats on the KitchenAid! You’re going to love it. And I’m glad you tried the cake! What gave you trouble with the cake construction?


  25. […] The Kitchen Sink-Chocolate Espresso Cake with Bailey’s Buttercream […]

  26. Samantha Says:

    Saw this on foodgawker and can’t wait to try! I love anything chocolate, buttercream, mint, baileys, etc. They look WONDERFUL! (and our anniv is 11aug as well! We just celebrated 7 years!)


  27. Samantha: Happy belated anniversary! If you give this a try, let us know what you think!


Leave a comment