Welcome (Home) Wagon

June 27, 2008

Thank goodness. The vegetable party—as delicious as it was—is coming to an end. Kevin’s coming home today and bringing his sweet tooth (which didn’t seem to exist before this blog’s inception) with him. In honor of his return, I made him some cookies: snickerdoodles. They might sound a little run of the mill, but we had them out the other night (they came alongside a selection of (insanely delicious) ice creams) and we both loved them. Also, they’re the perfect homey, simple cookie to say “welcome home.” They’re also tender and comforting and even kind of caramely. The dough is delicious too. Not that I would know.

Now, I’ve got some studying to do before he gets there, so I hope you won’t mind a photo montage of sorts today. Click through to the jump for the play-by-play of this cookie bake (which was quite brief; gotta love a baked good that comes together in the time it take your oven to preheat):

(Click “more” for the photos & recipe.)

Have a good weekend (unless you’re a White Sox fan … whoops, did that come out?)! I hope it’s full of hot dates, sunshine and, of course, cookies.

Snickerdoodles
Martha Stewart’s Cookies (which is a really fun cookbook, by the way)

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cups + 2 tablespoons sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt into a bowl. Put butter and 1 1/2 cups sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Mix in eggs. Reduce speed to low; gradually mix in flour mixture.

Stir together cinnamon and remaining 2 tablespoons sugar in a small bowl. Shape dough into 20 1 3/4-inch balls; roll in cinnamon sugar. Space 3 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.

Bake cookies, rotating sheets halfway through, until edges are golden, 12 to 15 minutes. Let cool on sheets on wire racks. Cookies can be stored between layers of parchment in airtight containers at room temperature up to 3 days.

10 Responses to “Welcome (Home) Wagon”

  1. steven Says:

    No cream of tartar?


  2. Steven: Funny you should mention that, because I noticed that Martha Stewart’s other Snickerdoodle recipes online both called for cream of tarter. There was more salt and baking soda in this recipe, but not cream of tartar.

  3. van Says:

    oh my gosh, my husband LOVES snickerdoodles too and i’ve found her cookies book recipe for them have been the best i’ve tried by far! great post, thanks! and i’m studying for the bar too. GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. katy Says:

    i have a very similar recipe for snickerdoodles that i make ALL THE TIME for my fiance — literally, can probably make a batch in my sleep. but he loves them!

  5. bulldogfood Says:

    Mmmm. These snickerdoodles look amazing. Do you ever try making them with oatmeal? It makes them kind of crispy and possibly even more delicious.

  6. becky Says:

    snickerdoodles are my favorite cookies! i love the butteriness with cinnamon and these look amaaaazing. thanks for the recipe!


  7. van: Well, I suppose I’m lucky then, because this is the first snickerdoodles recipe I’ve tried. Good luck to you too! I cannot wait for August.

    katy: That’s how I feel about my banana bread. I could make it asleep, blindfolded, etc etc.

    Sarah: I have not tried that, but I am of course now ready to drop everything and try it immediately! Do you have a recipe? If so, I’d love to try it.

    becky: Yes, the cinnamon! So good. If you give these a try, let us know how it goes!

  8. Mari Says:

    I’m going to have to try this recipe, I just made a batch for Cookie Carnival, but the recipe used both shortening and butter. I made the recipe with butter only, but wasn’t that impressed. I think I’ll try this version next.


  9. Mari: I shy away from baking with shortening too. Give these a try! Let us know what you think. Thanks for the Cookie Carnival link too; it sounds fun.

  10. MondazesChild Says:

    I love cinnamon~


Leave a comment