Goods News/Bad News

May 2, 2008

I’ve got good news and bad news. As always, bad news first. I set out this week to make homemade mint chocolate chip ice cream, a flavor that has long held the coveted distinction of being my favorite. I found a Martha Stewart recipe that called for neither artificial flavorings nor colorings—things that have put me off of other recipes. And while it was fun to make and looked and smelled divine … well, I didn’t like it. That’s the bad news.

(Click more for the good news, more photos and the recipe.)

But! The good news is that I am completely, totally on a mission to find a better mint chip recipe. If you have suggestions, please let me know. If I don’t hear from you, though, I vow to take up the challenge of hunting down, whipping up and sampling as many recipes as I can. Because I am just that selfless and dedicated. Do you see how I suffer for this blog? And, have I mentioned that I looooove ice cream?

Back to the bad news, for a moment. Like I said earlier, I loved the concept of this recipe: pure, simple ingredients. But the end result was off in several respects. First, the taste. It was very, very minty—and not in a good way. In kind of a “is this toothpaste, or is this ice cream?” way. Even overloading the batch with shards of dark chocolate (for which the recipe did not call) did little to help. And the texture fell short of the transcendent lushness of other ice creams I’ve made. All in all, a disappointment.

But I am on the war path now for a better recipe. I hope to bring it to you soon!

For this recipe, click here.

11 Responses to “Goods News/Bad News”

  1. RecipeGirl Says:

    We tried a lowfat version that we did like (mint choc. chip is my hubby’s fave so I guess he’s the expert.) It does call for peppermint extract.

    http://www.recipegirl.com/Desserts%20Fruits%20Crisps%20Frozen%20Treats/Desserts%20Fruits%20Recipes/Mint%20Chocolate%20Chip%20Ice%20Cream.htm#TOP%20OF%20HOME%20PAGE

    Sorry I don’t know how to place a live link in the comment section! Good luck in your search for the ultimate recipe!

  2. BMK Says:

    Check out David Lebovitz’ book “The Perfect Scoop” He has a recipe for chocolate mint icecream. It uses mint oil. That might be the key to a good mint flavor. I think fresh mint could taste a little medicinal. Good Luck!

  3. Deborah Says:

    I haven’t tried it, but I have heard really good things about the one on Simply Recipes. I have seen quite a few food bloggers make it and rave about it.

    http://www.elise.com/recipes/archives/006066mint_chocolate_chip_ice_cream.php

  4. Jerry Says:

    I have no recipe, but if I find one I’ll let you know!


  5. Try ours!

    A Hint of Mint

    We think it’s pretty good! More like a gelato recipe and more of a “hint” of mint!

  6. Siska Says:

    I tried clicking to your link to the recipe and it did not work. Ice cream looks yummy.

  7. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    Thanks for the ideas, everyone! Keep them coming …

    Siska: Thanks so much for letting me know about the link. It should be fixed now. Let me know if you continue to have trouble.

  8. Kevin Says:

    This ice cream looks and sounds really good! Mint and chocolate chip ice cream is one of my favorites.

  9. Eva Says:

    I have tried similar recipie as suggested by the District Domestic. The result was good, the trick is not to use the mint leaves, but to strain them out.

  10. eggsonsunday Says:

    Kristin – I was going to suggest looking in David Lebovitz’s “The Perfect Scoop”, too. I would direct you to a fresh mint choc chip ice cream I had made once (off of epicurious), but if you don’t like strong mint, you definitely wouldn’t have liked this. We used fresh peppermint from our garden and wooooo, was it minty! –Amy

  11. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    Thanks, Kevin.

    Eva: Yeah, I am liking the idea of steeping the mint leaves in the milk and then straining. Martha’s recipe called for blending the milk and mint and then straining out the little bits of mint.

    Amy: Hmm, I wonder if I would like peppermint more than spearmint? I think I’m going to get the David Lebovitz book. I was looking for a good excuse and now I have one! My other excuse would be summer, but I’m pretty sure that summer’s not actually coming this year.


Leave a comment