Hello, November

November 9, 2008

pie

As you know, it’s November. In fact, we’re nine days into November. And, well, I’m downright shocked that I haven’t mentioned the month’s arrival yet. Because November is my birthday month, a 30-day portion of the year that I take quite seriously. And it’s also the month of Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday for a number of reasons, not least of which is that I was born on the holiday (calling my mother’s doctor, as legend goes, away from his turkey-carving duties; patience was tough for me from the get-go, it seems). And, 28 years later, this Thanksgiving and my birthday will coincide again. I can’t tell you how that thrills me.

pie2

pie3

pie4

pie5

Thanksgiving is also my favorite holiday because it’s filled with food (if I could use only one word to describe my parents’ holiday spreads it would be “abundant,” but I really wish you’d allow me two words so that I could also tell you it’s “delicious,” all of it) and family (the exact composition shifts every year and the word “family” is of course elastic, making room for close friends and perfect strangers and even new boyfriends). There’s also the napping and football and the snapshots and the card games and the brisk walk with the dog. And I adore all of it.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

pie6
pie7

But the very, very best part of all is that there is an absolute blizzard of activity in the kitchen. (Actually, there are so many cooks in the kitchen these days that we bleed into the dining room, too.) Every inch of counter space is crowded with paper Bylery’s bags, cutting boards, recipes, knives and half-drunk cups of coffee. (And, family, if you’re reading this, I hate to break it to you, but this year we’ll have to make room for my camera too. I’m sorry. But it’s important. And it’s my birthday.) We make stuffings, all manner of pureed root vegetables, a green vegetable or three, a turkey, Swedish meatballs, sometimes a ham, and I’m sure a host of other things that I can’t make room for on my plate (let alone in my stomach).

pie8
pie9

Given that we make all these things, I can’t blame us for normally buying the pies. (But, family, if you’re reading this, I hate to break it to you, but I think that this year we’ll have to make the pies, or at least I’ll have to make the pies. I’m sorry. But it’s important. And it’s my birthday.) I love that late night, post-nap slice of pie. It’s the final piece of the Thanksgiving puzzle; once its eaten, the picture is complete. And, while I’d like to think that my pie tastes have always run traditional—smooth orange pumpkin, double-crust apple, gooey pecan—the truth is that nothing says Thanksgiving to me like French Silk Pie. I think it’s a holdover from my picky-eater past, when I positively refused any piece of turkey that wasn’t pristinely white, balked at the thought of separate foods touching each other on my plate, and would rather have gone hungry than have even a drop of gravy sully my mound of mashed potatoes.

pie10
pie11

While I’ve shed many of these charming culinary quirks, I am still firmly in favor of French Silk Pie. So, as this November rolled around, my mind kept wandering back to it. As it turns out, I didn’t have to wait for Thanksgiving to try my hand at a homemade version. Our friends Matt and Maggie hosted a chili cook-off on Saturday night (which, in case you’re wondering, is an excellent theme for a party, especially when one of the party guests moonlights as a Pub Quiz host and just so happened to have his hosting materials with him, prompting 10 rounds of trivia that, ahem, my very own team won).

pie12
pie13

I’ve had Matt’s fiery chili before and if his was any indication of the heat level we could expect from the evening’s contestants, I suspected that people’s mouths would be ablaze after the taste-testing. I wanted a cooling dessert and French Silk Pie, chilled in the refrigerator and sporting a halo of capsicum-killing whipped cream, was just the ticket.

pie15

Now, we’ve always called it French Silk Pie, but it appears the rest of the world calls it chocolate pie or chocolate cream pie. Either way, it’s basically this: a crust (normally a traditional flaky pastry crust, but here I opted for an easier and equally tasty cinnamon-flecked graham crust) that cradles a thick, seductive band of lush dark-chocolate pudding. The whole thing is topped with slightly sweetened, just-whipped cream. Sometimes it’s piped on in ornate patterns. But I opted for a simple slump of it, dusted with cocoa powder (but chocolate shavings are nice too).

pie14

It’s been firmly added to the homemade pie line-up that will anchor the dessert table this Thanksgiving. I’m hoping it becomes an annual tradition.

pielast

Chocolate Cream Pie
Adapted from Gourmet

Print Version

For crust
1 1/3 cups graham cracker crumbs
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

For filling

2/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 large egg yolks
3 cups whole milk
5 oz fine-quality bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
2 oz unsweetened chocolate, finely chopped
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla

For topping
3/4 cup chilled heavy cream
1 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon cocoa powder, for dusting

Make crust:
Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F.

Stir together crumbs, butter, sugar and cinnamon and press on bottom and up side of a 9-inch pie plate (1-quart capacity). Bake until crisp, about 15 minutes, and cool on a rack.


Make filling:
Whisk together sugar, cornstarch, salt, and yolks in a 3-quart heavy saucepan until combined well, then add milk in a stream, whisking. Bring to a boil over moderate heat, whisking, then reduce heat and simmer, whisking, 1 minute (filling will be thick).

Force filling through a fine-mesh sieve into a bowl, then whisk in chocolates, butter, and vanilla, stirring until the chocolate and butter is melted. Cover surface of filling with a buttered round of wax paper and cool completely, about 2 hours.

Spoon filling into crust and chill pie, loosely covered, at least 6 hours.


Make topping:
Just before serving, beat cream with sugar in a bowl using an electric mixer until it just holds stiff peaks, then spoon on top of pie.

Place cocoa powder into a fine mesh strainer and sift the powder over the whipped cream. Serve chilled.


Cooks’ note:
Pie (without topping) can be chilled up to 1 day.


28 Responses to “Hello, November”

  1. Erin Says:

    My birthday is in November and Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday too!!! I just had to share that. I love your blog!

    PS. We always called it French Silk Pie too.

  2. Amanda Says:

    Lucky girl! That means you get to have twice as many birthday cakes and twice as many cocktails. Now that is my kind of birthday 🙂 This December is going to be a woozy for me. I have my birthday, college graduation, and christmas. I might not be sober for the last half of December. And when I am awake, I will be shoveling this pie in my face!


  3. we call it a chocolate bavarian pie here in australia – no idea why!

    yours looks divine, mmmmmmm

  4. Mrs Ergül Says:

    Wow! Your family will be pleased having this as one of the many dishes for Thanksgiving! For sure, I will be too!

  5. sue bette Says:

    looks delicious! I bet this was very popular after the chili cook-off. I like your choice with the whipped topping, fancy piping is nice but your “slumping” puts a homemade signature on top.

  6. canarygirl Says:

    Oh my GAWD. No, really–OH MY GAWD!!! I am totally making that pie. French Silk is probably my favoritest of all, and yours looks fabulous! Happy Early Birthday, too! 😀

  7. eggsonsunday Says:

    What a great ending to a chili feast, and to a thanksgiving feast, too! Much as I love pumpkin and apple pies, having a chocolate component to the t’giving dessert spread is a must. -Amy

  8. Lindsay Says:

    oh my. that looks amazing! i will definitely have to make this.


  9. I love Chocolate Pie and yours looks absolutely amazing! So is someone going to make you a birthday cake and sign happy birthday to you after Thanksgiving dinner because I think that you should insist 🙂

    I am unfortuately going to be home in Chicago, alone, with a take home tax final to keep me company. I am hoping that I can find enough people that are staying in the city to cook for so here is hoping!

    Thanks for another beautiful post and recipe that I have to add to my “To make” list.
    -Whitney

  10. jamie Says:

    that pie looks absolutely delcious!

  11. RecipeGirl Says:

    This is looking rather delicious and creamy!

  12. Amrita Says:

    Ok…I’m trying to keep the drool off the keyboard….that pie looks seriously luscious!

  13. dakota Says:

    *laugh* I was born on Thanksgiving too!

    That pie looks really good.

  14. Nick Says:

    those eggs are a delicious shade of orange,
    wish I could get them that fresh around here…

  15. megan Says:

    i love your photos and step-by-step instructions. chocolate pie is a favorite of mine, can’t wait to try this. maybe i’ll make it double chocolate with an oreo crust? 🙂

  16. holler Says:

    You are torturing me here! You really are! But, never mind, I have copied the recipe and I am not letting it out of my sight!

  17. duodishes Says:

    Super yummy. Is it ever a sin to throw espresso in there?

  18. Laurie Says:

    how does one print out this recipe?

  19. ovenhaven Says:

    I absolutely adore those step-by-step photos. The chocolate filling looks too good not to be licked!

  20. canarygirl Says:

    Making this today for Son’s b-day tomorrow! 😀


  21. Erin: It sounds like we’ve got a lot in common! : )

    Amanda: Now that sounds like a birthday plan I can get behind. Also, you should probably start resting up for December now—sounds like a whirlwind!

    karen: Interesting! I wonder if my sister (a huge French Silk Pie fan) ever tried it when she studied in Sydney.

    Mrs Ergül: I hope so!

    sue bette: Actually, everyone was so full, I had to do some force feeding. But they were glad I did. : )

    canarygirl: Thanks! And good luck making it. You’re smart to make it a day ahead.

    Amy: I’m glad we agree!

    Lindsay: I hope you try it!

    whitney: There will be singing, but pie will be just fine in lieu of birthday cake. And a takehome tax final over Thanksgiving? That’s just cruel.

    jamie, Recipe Girl, Amrita: Thanks!

    Dakota: A fellow turkey day baby!

    Nick: They do look rather shockingly golden!

    megan: That’s actually what the original Gourmet recipe calls for, so I think you’re not alone in preferring more chocolate!

    holler: Oh no! Torture not intended. I hope you give it a try.

    duodishes: That’s a fantastic idea.

    Laurie: You’ve prompted me to add something along those lines (I’ve been meaning to do it forever). It’s active now. I hope that helps.

    ovenhaven: Thank you! And, yes, there were lots of “taste tests.”

  22. Robin Says:

    That’s so cute that you were born on Thanksgiving. Guess you wanted in on the food festivities even as an infant!

    You’re so thoughtful to make such a cooling pie for the chili dinner. Sounds delicious.

  23. Polly Says:

    Whoa, Nelly! Now that’s my kind of pie. “Charming culinary quirks” – that’s a genius euphamism I may have to steal for myself.

  24. nicole Says:

    This is one of my very favorites to make … my mom requests it every year at Christmas! But now I’m thinking I might need to make it a bit, um, earlier …

  25. Ali Says:

    No BSquare… (Gasp!)

    At least this looks like a suitable replacement. Can’t wait for all the birthday/thanksgiving/sisterly fun to come!

  26. parsnipsaplenty Says:

    I especially love the first picture! What’s Thanksgiving without pie?

    With drool from a fellow November baby.

  27. Shannalee Says:

    I am SO with you on loving Thanksgiving, and the story about your interrupting the doctor’s turkey is awesome. Too. perfect.


  28. […] made a phone date to plan the menus for the weekend. We concocted some doozies—some of which you’ve seen before and others that will grace this page before the year is out. But if there was one dish […]


Leave a comment