Kevin’s Favorite Blondie

April 7, 2008

If you were to ask Kevin what his favorite dessert was, I am betting that he’d off-handedly respond that it was “anything chocolate.” But I know better. Sure, he likes his chocolate and all. But, I happen to know that there’s a category of desserts that he loves even more than those of the chocolate ilk: those that can be served a la mode. He’s got a serious weakness for warm treats, topped with a scoop of ice cream that slowly softens against the heat of the dessert—cake, cookie, crisp, etc—below.

Seeing as though it is officially Kevin’s birthday week (we are the types that believe firmly in celebrating birthdays for far longer than 24 hours), I think it’s only fitting to share the recipe for these blondies, which are perhaps best served piping hot, adorned with a globe of vanilla ice cream. That said, they’re also pretty darn irresistible sans ice cream.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

I should back up a bit. I’ve gotten so caught up in the way these blondies are best served, that I’ve forgotten to mention that they are chock full of surprises. Sure, they include the normal butter-sugar-eggs of your average blondies. But they also feature the decadence of shards of dark chocolate, the crunch of finely chopped peanuts, the salty richness of peanut butter and the spicy hint of cinnamon. The most surprising addition, though, is this: flaked coconut, which gives these blondies a great texture—moist and a little chewy, but without being gooey.

Because I wrote this recipe, I felt I had to make these blondies several times before sharing them with you (poor us, I know). And, with each batch, Kevin only seemed to grow fonder. In fact, I think it’s safe to say that they’re his favorite blondie. Other than me, of course.

Peanut Butter-Chocolate Chunk Blondies

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup all-natural peanut butter
1 1/4 cups firmly packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup unsalted peanuts, finely chopped
1/2 cup flaked coconut

Preheat the oven to 350. Butter and flour a 9-inch square pan.

In a medium bowl, whisk or sift together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, mix the butter and peanut butter until fluffy. Add the sugar and mix until combined. Add the eggs and vanilla and mix until combined. With the mixer running on low speed, slowly add the dry ingredients, mixing until just combined.

Using a spatula or wooden spoon, fold in the chocolate, peanuts and coconut. Bake the blondies in the center of the pre-heated oven for 30 minutes, or until the blondies have just begun to brown around the edges.

Allow the blondies to cool completely in the pan before cutting.

21 Responses to “Kevin’s Favorite Blondie”

  1. grace Says:

    i’m all about anything a la mode. i’m also all about every ingredient in these blondies.

    clearly, it’s very important to make a few sacrificial batches for the sake of perfection–you do what you’ve gotta do. πŸ™‚

  2. Kevin Says:

    Thanks for the ode to me. Me (and these blondies) are clearly awesome enough to deserve all the attention!


  3. I have never made blondies – these look super yummy. Lucky Kevin!

  4. Amanda Says:

    I loooovvee Blondies! They are like big, fatty cookies cut up in chunks like brownies. The best part about eating them is biting into them fresh out of the oven when the chocolate oozes out of them and your teeth sink into the sugary butter dough. Awesome! I don’t normally bake with peanuts in general, but I think it was a good nut choice here because it adds great texture and bit to the bar. Thanks for the recipe!

  5. fanny Says:

    that looks absolutely delicious
    I am so making it in the near future
    xxx fanny

  6. April in CT Says:

    I’m another one that has yet to make blondies, but I’ll be trying these SOON! They look scrumptious. πŸ™‚

  7. Ali Says:

    The real blondie of the family (me) LOVED these!!

  8. Chef John Says:

    Kevin, looks awesome, may I have permission to post this recipe (with links and credits for you of course) on my About.com’s American foods site? Thanks!

  9. Deborah Says:

    OK, these sound amazing. And even though it’s not my birthday week, I may just have to treat myself to some of these!

  10. canarygirl Says:

    Oh my goodness. I need these. Right now. For breakfast! Happy extended Birthday to your hubs! I think I might celebrate with you and make your decadent blondies! πŸ™‚

  11. Ryley Says:

    mmmmmm…i might have to go home and make these tonight…. yummmy..
    my mouth is watering just reading about them.
    My husband’s teeth are super sensity to chocolate so he almost never gets to enjoy brownies!
    I bet he’d love these..
    THanks!

  12. Kevin Says:

    Those blondies look so good! Chocolate and peanut butter and peanuts…mmm…

  13. Patti Says:

    They are delicious. And now even better knowing they’re your own recipe. Can’t wait for this Sunday……

  14. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    Grace: Hey, when duty calls …

    Kevin: Let’s not push it.

    Patricia: Perhaps these can be your first?

    Amanda: Glad to have a kindred spirit in blondie love. About the peanuts — they are finely chopped, so you almost don’t notice them. But I think lend some nice texture. That said, you could skip them.

    Fanny: Thank you!

    April: Do try them — and please let me know how they turn out.

    Ali: Thanks for outing me as a dishwater “blondie.” This could have a very negative impact your receipt of leftovers, missie.

    Chef John: Please feel free to contact me directly at thekitchensinkblog (at) gmail (dot) com.

    Deborah: I can confirm that the presence of a birthday week is completely unnecessary for making these blondies. Let me know how it goes!

    CanaryGirl: Let’s just say you wouldn’t be the first to have one of these for breakfast (cough, Kevin).

    Ryley: Thanks! If you give them a try, let me know how they come out!

    Kevin: Thank you. I know — how can you go wrong with those ingredients?

    Patti: Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed this week’s Sunday Treats. Sunday is going to be great. Birthday week continues …

  15. jen Says:

    i made these last night because my husband went to bed early and i was feeling too fidgety to watch television. these blondies are packed full of so much flavor, that i only need a tiny square. maybe they’ll actually last longer in household. doubtful… so yummy!

  16. Emily Says:

    Ohhh… these are so good. This was my first attempt at non-cookie baking (I’m a bit of a novice), and these blondies are so much fun to make. I especially liked chopping the peanuts. My coworkers were also thrilled at the results. That’s always a bonus.

  17. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    Jen: I am so glad you liked them! They disappeared from our kitchen at a truly alarming rate. Thanks for reporting back.

    Emily: Yay! I’m so glad they worked for you. And I bet you were the belle of the teachers’ lounge! Wait, it just occurred to me that you actually get to go into the teachers’ lounge. That is so cool.

  18. stacie Says:

    Thanks for this recipe! I made them last night. I’ll be posting on them probably sometime next week. They were delicious!

  19. rrrick Says:

    Yummy – I just made them and already ate 1/4 of the pan. Mine aren’t pretty, but very tasty. Thanks!

  20. sheera Says:

    Oh lordy. I just tried it and it is AMAZING!

    Thank you loads! πŸ˜€

  21. Melanie Says:

    Hey, just made these today, and they turned out very well! but I shouldn’t have been so cheap — I left out the peanuts and coconut, and I think the coconut was a big mistake. Oh well, I’ll remember it next time. Thanks!


Leave a comment