Enchiladas: Step-by-Step

February 26, 2008

enchiladas8.jpg

I’m afraid I’ve been putting the cart before the proverbial horse. I’ve been going on and on about the peripheral elements of our Friday night fiesta: the drinks, the side dish and the dessert. Okay, I’m not sure that the margaritas and key lime bars qualify as peripheral, but still. All this time, the elephant in the room (while we’re using figures of speech) is the enchiladas that anchored our fiesta feast.

enchiladas.jpg

You can add these to the growing list of recipes on this site that involve a too-fun-for-words assembly line (see: pot stickers, lasagna, calzones …). The elements of the assembly line in this case of enchiladas are (1) a sauce (here, I used a roasted tomatillo sauce, spiked with peppers, onions, garlic and spices); (2) tortillas (I opted for corn, over flour); (3) a filling (the tomatillo sauce appeared here, too, but a thickened version of it that enveloped shredded chicken and spinach); and (4) cheese (crumbled queso fresco, here, but I’m sure that shredded Monterey Jack or white cheddar would have been delicious as well). Once you’ve got the assembly line, er, assembled, the rest is a breeze.

(Click “more” for the step-by-step pictorial.)

enchiladas4.jpg

Step One: Slather the bottom of a baking dish with a thin slick of sauce:

enchiladas5.jpg

Step Two: One by one, stuff the tortillas with the filling:

enchiladas2.jpg

Step Three: Roll them up and nestle them atop the slick of sauce, seam side down:

enchiladas6.jpg

Step Four: Spoon the remaining sauce over the rolled tortillas. I like to make a strip of sauce that bisects the tortillas lengthwise, so you can still see the shape of each individually rolled tortilla. Sprinkle the cheese on top of the sauced tortillas:

enchiladas3.jpg

enchiladas7.jpg

Step Five: Bake until bubbly, crusty and golden:

enchiladas2.jpeg

enchiladas.jpeg

For reference, I based my enchiladas (especially the roasted tomatillo sauce) on a Tyler Florence recipe, which you can find here. It was difficult to follow it to the letter, because this is a dish that is open to a million variations. That said, it’s still nice to have a recipe to launch from.

enchiladas9.jpg


5 Responses to “Enchiladas: Step-by-Step”

  1. RecipeGirl Says:

    Love the step by step pictorial! I don’t believe I’ve ever made enchiladas with a tomatillo sauce before.


  2. I would just love these! I miss tomatillos! Yum!


  3. I have never tried enchiladas and these look so delicious!


  4. MMMm. Have to make this soon. You’re absolutely right baout being able to alter this a million ways.

  5. joejhorn Says:

    Your enchiladas look awesome.

    I just made some lower fat chicken and cheese enchiladas and put them on my blog. Actually I’ve made them quite a bit, they are great. Come take a look if you have a chance and let me know what you think.

    http://cookingquest.wordpress.com


Leave a comment