I’m a Morning Person. I Know. I’m Sorry.

January 23, 2009

brunch21

You were all so nice to me about this new menu idea.  I’m glad you’re as excited about it as I am.  For the second menu, I gravitated toward breakfast, probably because I love it so much.  I’d go as far as to say it’s in my top three favorite meals of the day.  (Ba-dum-DUM.)  Pulling together this menu has got me thinking about my ideal morning.

There are the weekday mornings that start at a mind-numbing hour and involve tearing myself out of bed and prying my eyelids open.  But lately, they also involve a scoop of yogurt, topped with grapefruit segments and a walnut-and-dried cherry-laced granola—and that’s nothing to sniff at.  There’s aslo a delicious comfort to the routine and a stillness to the dark quiet of our building, our street, our neighborhood, our city at that hour.

Then there are the weekend mornings, when it’s just Kevin and me.  And, really, for a couple hours, while he still sleeps, it’s just me.  During those hours, I like  to sit really still, with my fingers wrapped around a steaming mug of coffee, reading something lovely—maybe the New York Times online or a blog or a book.

And I love the catch-as-catch-can quality of a morning on the road—the moments right after you wake up, before you remember exactly where you are; the hunt for the best breakfast you can possibly find.  This is all even better if you’re waking up in a tent, sunlight filtering through the neon nylon and a campstove with your name (and a batch of pancakes’ name) on it.

All these mornings have in common a measure of tranquility.  But I adore a noisy diner or a big family brunch too.  And big family (and I use “family” loosely, as always—neighbors, roommates, whatehaveyou) brunch is what I’ve got in mind with today’s menu.  It’s got a hearty egg dish; a light salad of baby greens, grapefruit and shaved fennel; and—get ready—ultimate sticky buns, which are ultimate indeed and quite possibly one of the best things I’ve ever made.  It’s definitely got the makings of an ideal morning.

Not only is this meal delicious, but it’s got a lot of make-ahead options.  You can take the strata right up to the point where you pour in the eggs and you can all but bake the sticky buns.  Bake both of those things off while you throw the salad together.  And pour the mimosas.  Don’t forget the mimosas.

Happy weekend, everybody!

Big Weekend Brunch Menu

Tomato Feta Strata

Grapefruit-Fennel Salad

Ultimate Sticky Buns

Special Occasion Mimosas

Coffee and Tea

12 Responses to “I’m a Morning Person. I Know. I’m Sorry.”

  1. Jamie Says:

    I love making breakfast foods like cinnamon buns or coffee cake, but who gets up that early in the morning (except maybe you?), so they usually end up being made for an afternoon treat.


  2. Jamie: Actually, these are just the cinnamon buns for you then! You can make them through the slice/place in the pan stage and refrigerate over night. In the morning, take them out and let them rise (this does take some time but it’s completely inactive time) and bake. That said, sounds like a nice afternoon treat too. : )

  3. LilSis Says:

    I love your new menu idea! And breakfast happens to be my favorite meal of the day. Your Tomato Feta Strata looks awesome! I’ll have to give it a try. BigSis and I both posted last week about some of our favorite breakfasts. We’d love for you to stop by our blog http://www.bigsislilsis.com.

  4. Robin Says:

    I’ve been turning in a morning person lately–I had been begrudgingly waking up at 5:30 to go to work but not anymore, and waking up around 7 or so is so much fun. I’ll have to get on those sticky buns…

  5. Amanda Says:

    I like quiet mornings, where the house is completely yours and the only sound you can hear is the heating flowing through the vents. I’ve become an early riser now, having to wake up at 5:30 am and I miss my morning workouts, but someday I will have them back🙂


  6. I love breakfast but I have not been able to master the early rising part. During the week I like to make a big pot of steel cut oatmeal on Sunday, then reheat it up in servings with goodies (milk, almond butter, dried fruit) but these cinnamon rolls really look like a treat.

    What time are you getting up and making it to the office? How annoyed are you that it is back to being frigid again!?

    Have a wonderful saturday!

  7. Melissa Says:

    I have had your strata in mind for quite some time. Would love to get around to trying it. Another great menu!

    I’m a morning person from time to time, and just for the reason you describe. The alone time, the tranquility. It’s very soothing.

  8. diane (mom) Says:

    Mornings have always been my favorite also.As a child asleep in my bed and waking to grandpa fixing breakfast is one of my most treasured childhood memories.Now,when we can all be together to celebrate it is so special for all of us to participate and share the meal together. Thanks for another great idea! Love, MOM

  9. Jessie Says:

    This is a delcious sounding (and looking) breakfast menu. I’ll have to keep it in mind for a weekend brunch. Thanks for sharing, I really enjoy your blog.

  10. GS Says:

    I’m a huge fan of make-ahead dishes (eg., I made Deep Dish Brioche French Toast twice during Christmas) so…a very big thank-you from me. So many excellent recipes, so little time. Thanks again for all you do! I wish I could return the favour!

  11. duodishes Says:

    All you had to say was sticky buns, and we would be at the table. But then you said mimosas, and we pulled out our chair. Love making brunch on Sunday mornings…not Saturdays. For some reason, Sunday and brunch just make sense.


  12. LilSis: Thanks!

    Robin: Yes, 7 sounds perfect.

    Amanda: I get up at 5:30 precisely *for* the morning workout. That’s early just to commute!

    whitney: I’ve been wanting to try steel cut oatmeal at home. Sounds great!

    Melissa: Do try the strata!

    Mom: I know EXACTLY what you mean. Grandpa makes some mean pancakes. And hash browns. And and and …

    Jessie: Thanks!

    GS: Aww, thank you!

    duodishes: Mmm, mimosas …


Leave a Reply

