Small Victories

January 20, 2009

 
clembread

I think we’ve come to the point in the winter where you have to grasp at the small bright spots—pin pricks of light on what seems like an inky dark horizon.  Take yesterday:  Kevin and I took a walk through the neighborhood and marveled at how downright pleasant it was.  Sure, we had to pick our way over snow drifts and patches of ice—but the sun was shining and the temperature was in the double-digits.  Small victories, but victories, nonetheless.

clembread2

There are other bright spots to January: the day light slowly but surely lengthens; there are so many good movies out that you could contemplate moving into a theatre near you, subsisting on pocorn alone; it’s a new year, which, this year, comes with a new president.  Better than all of these things, though, (except maybe the new president part!) is citrus.  Like the friend who knows you better than anyone, it arrives in your darkest hour (or, say, month), just when you need a pick-me-up.

clembread3

And pick me up it has.  There are no fewer than five varieties of citrus piled in a bowl on my kitchen counter: some orange or yellow, others green or pink; some softball-sized, others no larger than an egg.  The clementines–small and orange—are always the hardest to get through.  And not for lack of trying.   There’s a small bowl of them on my desk at work and I’ve been snacking on one in the morning and one in the afternoon.  Kevin’s been toting them to work too.  But, as if they’re reproducing, our clementine stash refuses to dwindle.

clembread4

So I put them to work in this quick bread, which—if you’ve been hanging around here awhile—is really no big surprise, given my love of breakfast-y breads.

clembread5

I started out with my Almond Poppy Seed Bread recipe (minus the almond and, erm, poppy seeds), because I adore it.  The clementines permeate the loaf in three ways: first, fresh-squeezed juice stands in for some of the buttermilk and the almond extract I use in the original recipe; second, about one clementine’s worth of zest goes in with the dry ingredients; and, finally, when the cake is out of the oven and still warm, a drizzle of sweetened clementine juice soaks into the loaf.

clembread6

The result is a very pale orange loaf that is flecked with shreds of clementine zest.  It’s bright, frangrant, faintly sweet and incredibly tender.  I’ve made it twice—once with whole wheat pastry flour and once with all-purpose flour.  Both work but the texture of the all-purpose loaf is, unsurprisingly, superior.  I also threw in a handful or so of dried cranberries, because I like the flavor combination and the pop of ruby color.  All in all, just one more January bright spot to love.

clembreadlast

Clementine-Cranberry Bread

Printable Recipe

3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
3 egg whites, lightly beaten
3/4 cup fresh squeezed and strained clementine juice, divided
1/4 cup buttermilk
3/4 cup sour cream (low fat is fine)
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose or white whole wheat flour or whole wheat pastry flour
1 tablespoon clementine zest
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup dried cranberries, tossed in a teaspoon of flour
2 tablespoons powdered sugar

Preheat the oven to 350. Grease a large loaf pan.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the egg whites, 1/2 cup juice (reserve the remaining 1/4 cup), buttermilk, sour cream and vanilla extract to the butter-sugar mixture and beat until combined.

In a separate medium-sized bowl, whisk together the flour, zest, baking powder, baking soda and salt. With the mixer running on low speed, slowly add the whisked dry ingredients. When the mixture is almost combined, add the cranberries. Beat until the wet and dry ingredients have just combined and the cranberries are distributed throughout the batter.

Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan and use a rubber spatula or spoon to smooth the top. Bake for 60 to 65 minutes, or until the top of the loaf is golden brown and a tester inserted in the center of the loaf comes out clean.

Allow the loaf to cool in the pan for five to 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, whisk the reserved 1/4 cup of juice and the powedered sugar.  Remove the loaf from the pan and transfer to a baking sheet set over a piece of wax or parchment paper.  Drizzle the sweetened clementine juice over the loaf; it will absorb quickly.

18 Responses to “Small Victories”

  1. Debbie Says:

    That looks so good. I love making all different types of quick breads because they are so good and simple. I will try this one.

  2. Amy Says:

    Looks delicious! I agree wholeheartedly; citrus is a bright spot in our dark winter days…I’ve been eating a bowl of orange, grapefruit and blood orange slices every night. Those clementines in the picture look so boldly orange and juicy…mmm!


  3. Wow. This is the first time for me to visit your blog (or hear about it). I saw the gorgeous photo on tastespotting.
    Awesome food photography. I have subscribed already .
    I have to look up in your blog which camera you are using. And lighting.
    Awesome photos… have I said that already?
    Oh, and I’m a Clementine addict. I’ll have to try this recipe.

  4. holler Says:

    This looks lovely! So light, I would love a slice right now🙂

  5. Emily Says:

    Oh, so excited! I just finished yet another loaf of the almond poppy seed bread, and it vanished in record time. This is moving to the top of my list. Yeah for change… both big and small!

  6. Rachel M. Says:

    I LOVE clemtines…

    I’m not sure that I have the power to juice them though…they are so darn cute…I could stand to hurt them…hehe…


  7. mmmmmm…I love citrus and cranberries, and bread! Yay for a new recipe and for a new president!

  8. GS Says:

    This weekend will be too cold for my regular outdoor activities so I think I’ll pick up a few ingredients and give this a shot!! Bonus: I get to try my new citrus press! Thanks for all you do!

  9. JJ Says:

    Any idea whether fresh cranberries would work instead of dried? If so, what amount? Thanks!


  10. It is a great time for citrus, and I’ve been trying to think of ways to use clementines. Great looking breakfast bread!


  11. i have a love affair with oranges. so much so that the skin under my thumbnail literally corrodes away from peeling oranges daily. anyhow, i love it! and clementines are my second favourite after naval oranges. this is an amazing looking bread! i’ll be using this recipe once i get my hands on some cranberries🙂 x


  12. I was laughing the other day because I made a comment that it was so nice out when it was sunny and 18 degrees. It actually felt warm! HA. And the fact that the sun isn’t setting at 4PM. Wonderful.

    I enjoyed a huge navel orange at my desk at my externship. It was wonderful. This bread recipe looks like another keeper. I need to buy a box of clementines.

  13. Monica h Says:

    Your bread is beautiful and so are those clementines. The color and juiciness (is that a word?) of them is so refreshing.

  14. duodishes Says:

    Sounds and looks delicious. Funny how the orange and clementine really pops up in January!


  15. Debbie: I hope you try it!

    Amy: That sounds like the perfect dessert.

    Nurit: Thank you!

    holler: I wish I could give you one!

    Emily: I love it. OF COURSE you can connect Obama and quick bread.

    Rachel M: I know! I first used a citrus reamer and it punctured the rind! So delicate.

    Andrea: Yay, indeed!

    GS: Ooh, a new citrus press! Lucky you!

    JJ: I’m think they would. They might be more prone to sinking, but if you’re okay with that, then, yes, I think fresh would be fine.

    lisa: Thanks! Give it a try.

    diva: That must be a lot of peeling! I admire the dedication. : )

    whitney: Glass half full, huh?

    Monica h: Thanks! And totally a word.

    duodishes: Citrus season is upon us!

  16. Mari Says:

    Quick breads are the way forward, quick and easy, delicious and terribly satisfying in the instant gratification kinda way. Can’t think of a better way to use up a citrus stockpile.

  17. Jamie Says:

    This is so much like my Cranberry (fresh) – Orange Bread. I love that sweet taste of orange with the tartness of the berries. I always buy tons of clementines all winter, but never thought of replacing the orange with them.

    I grew up on the Indian River in Florida, home of all those miles and miles of citrus groves, so winter always means citrus to me. Love it!


  18. Mari: Agreed!

    Jamie: Yes, I love orange and cranberry, but always seem to have more clementines on hand. Perhaps if I lived where you do that wouldn’t be the case!


Leave a Reply

