On Multitasking and Holiday Baking

December 19, 2008

pbfudge

My chief complaint with the iPhone is that it is entirely unconducive to cradling on your shoulder while you, say, make dinner and talk to your mom at the same time.  It’s nothing like the receiver of the phone that used to hang in my family’s kitchen (rotary! oh, the horror when my friends came over!).  That one was dumbell shaped and clunky, but my mom could cook an entire dinner with it pinched between her ear and shoulder, the curly cord stretching from the stove to the sink to the table and back again.

pbfudge2

The iPhone?  Not so much.  On Sunday as I was cleaning up after yet another baking project, I called my mom.  Before I could even get past the obligatory “What did you have for dinner?” question, the phone slipped out of it’s awkward position bewteen my cheek and clavicle, causing me to drop a (brand new) bottle of vanilla (extra large, extra expensive) on the counter, where it promptly shattered.  Which is when I started cursing.  Which is when I hung up the phone.  Which is when I vowed that the holiday baking was OVER.

pbfudge31

And all of which was just one day before I decided that I must make just one more holiday treat.  Which is when I plunked two sticks of butter and a cup of peanut butter into a glass bowl, slid that bowl into the microwave, “cooked” it for four minutes (stopping midway through to stir), folded in a cloud of powdered sugar and a glug of bourbon (I told you: I’m out of vanilla), spread the thick mixture into in a lined pan and called it a day.  Actually, I called it fudge.  Peanut butter fudge, to be precise.  And it’s so good—rich, sweet and dense—that one bite will make your eyes cross as it melts on your tongue.  And it’s so easy that you could probably even make it while talking on your iPhone.   Maybe.

Peanut Butter Fudge
Alton Brown via FoodNetwork.com

Printable Recipe

1 cup butter, plus more for greasing pan
1 cup peanut butter [I used all-natural]
1 teaspoon vanilla [I used bourbon]
1 pound powdered sugar

Microwave butter and peanut butter for 2 minutes on high. Stir and microwave on high for 2 more minutes. Add vanilla and powdered sugar to peanut butter mixture and stir to combine with a wooden spoon. Pour into a buttered 8 by 8-inch pan lined with waxed [or parchment] paper. Place a second piece of waxed [or parchment] paper on the surface of the fudge and refrigerate until cool. Cut into 1-inch pieces and store in an airtight container for up to a week.

[Dust with cocoa powder or drizzle with melted bittersweet chocolate, if desired.]

18 Responses to “On Multitasking and Holiday Baking”

  1. Ali Says:

    BEAUTIFUL Photots, Kris!!! And rotary brings one thing and one thing only to mind– “hello, webas.”

  2. JENA Says:

    what phenomenal presentation! they look lovely AND delicious!

  3. April in CT Says:

    Yum! These look so easy and tasty. Adding them to my list of things to make as give aways.

    You know..you could always get a bluetooth headset then you could talk, bake, talk, wash dishes, talk, sample fudge, talk, clean up, talk, sample more fudge. All hands free! lol

  4. Lindsay Says:

    I just got an I-Phone and have the same problem!!!! I hate it! I actually dropped and broke my favorite Christmas platter when mine slipped and fell to the floor……. grrrrrr!!

    Love your Blog!

  5. kickpleat Says:

    I love that fudge. It’s so easy to make and all my friends love it when I make it as gifts.


  6. Actually the iPhone has ENHANCED my cooking/baking. I will connect my iPhone headphones and listen to podcasts while I am doing stuff. And, I know when my phone rings, I can just pull it out of my pocket to answer, then slide it back in my pocket and get back to work. The iPhone headphones have a microphone on them so it’s easy to talk on the phone. OR, I often just pull up the recipe I am making on my iPhone, and set it in the cabinet at my eye level to read the instructions! This way I don’t have to print out the recipe! (wow, I sound like a commercial)

    I love your blog, and the fudge looks great. It’s nice to know you made fudge using natural peanut butter, that’s all I buy!

  7. parsnipsaplenty Says:

    “I told you: I’m out of vanilla.”

    Funniest thing all morning.

    I remember the day my parents replaced the rotary phone with a fancy gray push-button speakerphone – with speed dial! They still refused to pay the dollar a month for touchtone, though, and stuck it out until the phone company made the switch for everyone. I’m sad, too, that my razr phone can’t be perched on my shoulder, but I make do with the speaker function – which I find works pretty well in the kitchen.

  8. Anne Says:

    I’m sure it isn’t what you want to hear after losing a brand new bottle of vanilla… but yeah, what Erin said.. the headphones with mic are wonderful for talking while cooking.

    The fudge looks delicious and I like the easy part too. I’m about to start holiday treats this weekend and I’m going to be doing a lot of referencing both “The Kitchen Sink” and “Eggs on Sunday” in the process… probably on my iPhone at times. Both yours and Amy’s blogs have your own home page app tiles on my iPhone. Neat, huh!

  9. diane (mom) Says:

    I hope that I didn’t cause the kitchen disaster,that fabulous vanilla can’t be altered. These look great and I hope they might come home for the holiday.We are counting days…YEA! MOM

  10. Polly Says:

    these little treats look divine! I needed another treat for a last-minute party Monday night and this will be perfect. I too have an iphone and agree with Erin that the earphone accessory works like a dream for multi-tasking!


  11. Funny story. Well, not so funny for the counter and the bottle of vanilla. This fudge looks great and sounds delicious!!

  12. Calypso Says:

    Thanks for posting this! It’s been a crazy week with the weather, and now that I need to churn out quick holiday gifts this was the perfect recipe to try. I made it this morning, and have already given out one gift package already. This is fabulous – thank you.

  13. eggsonsunday Says:

    Ooh, Kristin, they look and sound amazing!! So pretty. Sorry to hear about the iPhone troubles…I don’t have an iPhone yet, but my cell phone is pretty much the same deal. I panicked last week when I had to take a call from work and look at something on my computer at the same time…no easy way to cradle it without the phone shooting like a projectile across my desk. The fudge, I think, was totally worth it, though.🙂 Merry Christmas! -Amy

  14. maggie Says:

    Beautiful holiday treats! Sorry about the vanilla.

  15. Ingrid Says:

    Oops, too bad about the vanilla! Isn’t it funny how Moms always ask that same question though my mom asks my children. I wonder if she thinks I don’t feed ’em? Anway great job on the fudge. You did a nice job decorating them!
    ~ingrid


  16. With my iPhone, I tend to put everyone on speaker phone and just yell at them from whereever I am in the kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, etc. Totally not annoying at all…

  17. jay Says:

    just found your website, looking forward to trying some of your recipes. you and the others with iphone troubles will love this throwback device: http://www.thinkgeek.com/gadgets/cellphone/8928/


  18. jay: That’s hilarious. Welcome to the site! Come back often …


Leave a Reply

