Flashless & Photoless No More

December 16, 2008

squashapplesalad

So.  This salad.  Well, hmmm, let’s see.  I’m not sure what to say about it.  For one thing, it’s not the gingerbread cake I made on Sunday and hoped to tell you about today, because that cratered while it baked and then refused to dislodge itself from its pan (still producing delicious crumbs, though, I assure you).  And it’s also not the newest soup to grace my Dutch oven twice in the last month, because while that soup is incredibly comforting and bright and hearty, it’s also incredibly un-photogenic.

salad2

And, while we’re at it, it wasn’t the Chicago-style deep dish we made the weekend before last,  either, because we ate that long after sundown and we hungrily ate it, flashless and thus photoless.   (Don’t worry, it will have an encore very soon.) Which, I suppose, brings me back to the salad.

salad3

You see, while the salad itself was just okay, there was something completely awesome about making it.  While we made it, we snapped photos of it using my new flash!  For my birthday-slash-blogoversary, Kevin surprised me with an external flash.  Yes, I am indeed the luckiest gal this side of the Mississippi.

salad4

These were the first photos we took with the flash and it probably shows.  And a couple weeks later, I’m still scaling the very steep learning curve, but I am so excited about the prospect of taking photos after the late, late hour of 4 p.m.  But, still, I’m not that excited about this salad.  I love all the components, but it just didn’t come together for me.  In the recipe’s defense, I did a lot of tweaking with it: swapping endive out in favor of arugula, trading dried cranberries for dried cherries, adding toasted walnuts, and so forth.  I should really give it another try, but I’m too busy getting to know the flash.  You understand, right?

saladlast

The recipe is here.

11 Responses to “Flashless & Photoless No More”

  1. ischwab Says:

    If you’re looking for a good salad recipe with similar flavors, I’ve enjoyed this one a couple times this fall🙂
    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Autumn-Farmers-Market-Salad-350128

  2. Melissa Says:

    Congratulations! That’s something I’ve looked into many a time, but still haven’t invested in. And of course it’s understandable that you’re having fun playing with your new toy. 😀

  3. Chris Says:

    Don’t you hate unphotogenic soups? Somehow I still feel compelled to take pictures of them… sigh.

  4. Tracy Says:

    This looks like my kind of salad.

  5. Whtiney Says:

    Looks like a wonderful salad.

    I am still trying to get my photos to not suck with my poor apartment lighting and the endless winter…tastespotting and food gawker aren’t giving me the love.

  6. Anna Says:

    New flash looks beautiful! Do you have New Year’s Eve menu schemes already? I’m looking for some inspiration…

  7. Emily Says:

    I love the new look, too!

  8. Dawn in CA Says:

    So, sneaking in a new look with no fanfare? Or just trying it on for size? Either way, I like the color scheme — the green and orange combo is very pretty. And the salad looks delicious, even if it did fall short of your expectations in the taste department! (maybe it needs bacon, which makes everything good ;))Congrats and good luck with the new flash!


  9. Congrats on your new toy! I have one too, but am scared to use it because I tend to wash things out. I totally get your “after 4pm” photo blues though, the weekends make me happy because I can take pics of my food in natural daylight! 🙂 Can’t wait to see more as you continue to experiment!

  10. eggsonsunday Says:

    Great new look, Kristin, and congrats on your new toy! Have fun experimenting with it.🙂


  11. ischwab: I’ve looked at that one! Good to have a first-hand recommendation.

    Melissa: Thanks!

    Chris: You’re a better food blogger than I. : )

    Tracy: If you give the original recipe a try, do let us know what you think!

    Whitney: How’s this for depressing: it’s not even winter yet. Sob …

    Anna: Thanks! For NYE, I like the idea of something slow-cooked and homey, like a braise or stew. Recipe on this site to fit the bill would be the cider braised chicken, the braised short ribs, coq au vin, beef stew, beef bourg. Options are endless!

    Emily: Thanks!

    Dawn: Actually, I activated it by accident! But I kind of like it …

    Andrea: Thanks! Yeah, flash needs practice, I am finding.

    Amy: Thanks!


Leave a Reply

