My Thanksgiving Task (Besides the Pies)

December 3, 2008

cran

When I arrived in Minnesota last Tuesday night, my mom promptly handed me a fat file folder full of recipes.  I flipped through them, stomach growling, and asked her which ones made the final cut for the Thanksgiving menu.  “All of them,” she replied casually.  No, I thought.  Not possible.  How would so many dishes be made in one kitchen?  With four burners and one oven?

cran2

cran3

cran4

cran5

And I remained skeptical until I woke up on Thanksgiving morning around 8 a.m. to the sounds of the pots clattering, rutebagas banging on the counter, and the dog barking.  I made my way downstairs and into the kitchen, bleary-eyed.  There, I found mountains of peeled squashes and potatoes, enough diced onions to require an entire box of tissues, and my mom’s pile of recipes neatly divided into three stacks: those that were complete (at 8 a.m.!), those that were in progress, those  that were yet to be made.  The last of these stacks was by far the shallowest.  My mom flipped through that pile, handed me one of the recipes in it and poured me a cup of coffee.

cran6

She’d handed me the recipe for these cranberries, so I staked out a little bit of counter (and elbow) space among my grandparents, my parents, an aunt and an uncle and got down to business.  I didn’t want to be the faulty cog in such a well-oiled Thanksgiving machine.

cran7

The recipe was blissfully easy (Wednesday night had involved one of those impromptu high school reunions at a hometown bar and, well, there is really only one antidote to the awkwardness that ensues at those events and, lucky for me, at this particular bar it only cost about two dollars per pint; so, yes, an easy recipe was an absolute must).  Just pour some fresh cranberries (ours were grown in Wisconsin and real beauties) into a heavy saucepan.  Next, grate in a nub of peeled ginger and shower sugar over all of that.  Finish it off with a couple glugs of sherry vinegar, mix and set the pot over a low flame.

cran81

The cranberries will simmer away slowly, breaking down with an occasional hiss or pop.  Soon,  the whole cranberries will have loosened into a thick liquid, sending wafts of ginger into the air to mingle with all the other wonderful holiday smells.  In the end, I’m glad the cranberries were my job.  They were beautiful (especially in the crystal bowl I plucked from one of my mother’s cabinets) and delicious—tart and smooth and interesting.  And I think they straddle both the Thanksgiving and Christmas seasons.  So, don’t tuck this recipe away until next November—put it to use this month.

Cranberry-Ginger Relish
Martha Stewart

Printable Recipe

1 bag (12 ounces) fresh or frozen cranberries
1 cup sugar
1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
2 tablespoons sherry vinegar or red-wine vinegar

In a large saucepan, bring cranberries, sugar, ginger, and 2 tablespoons water to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer until most of the cranberries have popped, 10 to 15 minutes. Stir in vinegar.

Remove relish from heat. Let cool to room temperature, and serve (or refrigerate in an airtight container up to 3 days).


8 Responses to “My Thanksgiving Task (Besides the Pies)”

  1. sue bette Says:

    You mom sounds like a Thanksgiving master!
    I am filing this recipe away for next year – my cranberries fell a bit short this year, I tried this port & orange thing and it was pretty bitter – I am embarrassed to say I combined it with store-bought cranberries in order to save the day.

  2. culinarycory Says:

    The tartness of the cranberries and the punch of the ginger is a great combo.

  3. Shannalee Says:

    These look beautiful! I loved the story behind them, too. Your mom is amazing.

  4. Dawn in CA Says:

    My kids and hubby will only eat the jellied cranberry sauce from a can (*gasp!*). So every Thanksgiving I make a bowl full of whole cranberry sauce just for me. One of these days, they’ll come around.

  5. Hillary Says:

    Yummy looking cranberry sauce! I thought my Thanksgiving task was just to make the green beans but I wound up having to make the turkey and put the whole thing together!🙂

  6. Andrea Says:

    That cranberry sauce is BEAUTIFUL. I love your photos!

  7. Robin Says:

    Oh, those awkward high school reunions–I’ve had more than I care to remember (even though I was never sober enough to remember them!)

    Love that there’s vinegar in this relish, sometimes cranberry sauce can be too sweet.


  8. sue bette: A master indeed! And, don’t worry, I won’t tell about the cranberries.

    culinarycory: I agree!

    Shannalee: Thanks! (On my mom’s behalf too.)

    Dawn: To be honest, I’ve only recently come around to cranberries. So, perhaps there’s still time …

    Hillary: Ha! Looks like it was a gorgeous feast!

    Andrea: Thanks!

    Robin: THANK you! I knew someone would understand. The ginger helps balance the sweetness too. Funny that cranberry sauces are normally so sweet, given how tart the cranberries are themselves. Perhaps it has something to do with the mountains of sugar most recipes call for …


Leave a Reply

