And Then She Loosened Her Belt

November 28, 2008

placeset

Still too full to talk. And here’s why:

The barbecue, ready for the dry-brined turkey:

grill

turkey11

Grandpa carving:

turkey2

turkey3

Gravy, whisking:

gravy

Cranberries:

cranberries

Mashed rutebaga:

rutebaga

Sliced ham:

ham

Mmmmm, mashed potatoes:

taters1

taters2

taters3

taters4

taterslast

Not pictured: Grandma’s famous stuffing; mashed sweet potatoes with caramelized onions; maple roasted squash; green beans; rolls; Swedish meatballs; and and and. Around nightfall, there were pies: French Silk, Pumpkin and Apple Pecan, as promised.

What about you all? How did it go?

17 Responses to “And Then She Loosened Her Belt”

  1. culinarycory Says:

    Your turkey looks amazing! I love the idea of smoking it on the grill. Yum!


  2. Your french silk pie was a hit at my Thanksgiving potluck. I had a little probably getting my turkey fully cooked. I was using a friend’s apt oven and who knows if it was the right temperature and such.

    All and all a great thanksgiving. Looks like yours was wonderful๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Monica h Says:

    We had Thanksgiving 2 nights in a row. Wednesday night I did all the cooking- turkey breast (honestly the best I’ve ever had!) sweet potatoes, broccoli rice casserole, creamed spinach, egg gravy, cranberry sauce, spinach artichoke dip, and rolls!

    Yesterday I made a chocolate ale cake and that was it. I got off easy๐Ÿ™‚

    Everything looks so wonderful. Glad you had a great day!

  4. Melissa Says:

    That picture of the ham is killing me. Glad to see your Thanksgiving and happy it came out so beautifully.

    Mine was the best I’ve made, though, as short a time as I’ve been cooking “for real” that wouldn’t take much. Ha Seriously, though, it rocked. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. katy Says:

    beautiful photos — what a perfect holiday!

  6. cassie Says:

    What a turkey! Wow…everything looks so delicious.

    Are you planning on making anything good with your leftovers? I’ve got a ton of leftover chestnuts and am trying to figure out something to do with them. Any ideas?๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Dawn in CA Says:

    Beautiful photos, as always. Thanks for sharing a bit of your holiday with us! We spent the day with friends, and I got to try a deep-fried turkey for the first time. Have to admit, it was darn tasty! My contribution to the menu included orange-bourban sweet potatoes, cornmeal prosciutto stuffing, and apple pie. Don’t you just love Thanksgiving foods?


  8. Thanks, everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful holiday.

    Cassie: I left the leftovers in Minnesota with my parents! I know my mom was making turkey-vegetable soup with the leftover turkey and stock. And I know she did her best to send everyone home with several tupperwares full of leftovers. What about you?

    Dawn: Those sweet potatoes sound really interesting. Yum.

  9. Tiffany Says:

    Looks wonderful! Our turkey was smoked on the grill also, and it was so so good. Glad you had a happy holiday.

  10. cassie Says:

    there is definitely some turkey soup in my future, too…that’s for sure. haha. other than that, though, the only thing i have leftover is about a pound of chestnuts. no idea what to do with them yet–but roasting them around a freshly cut/mounted Christmas tree sounds awfully nice.๐Ÿ™‚

    ’tis the season and all.

  11. Carl Says:

    Would you mind sharing what went into those mashed potatoes? It looks wonderful whatever it is. Your blog has inspired me to forge on and to embrace the one thing I truly love: food. As long as there is food to be made and eaten, I’ll be happy.


  12. Tiffany: Thanks!

    cassie: Sorry, no chestnut ideas. I’ve never worked with them. Let us know what you end up doing with them.

    Carl: It’s an ungodly amount of butter, some herbed cheese (Boursin) and herbed sour cream (the brand, available only in Minnesota to my knowledge, is Top the Tater) and roasted celery root. And, yes, it is absolutely wonderful. Thanks for your note!

  13. Hillary Says:

    Looks incredible! Glad to see you had a delicious Thanksgiving. I overate this weekend too๐Ÿ™‚

  14. kate Says:

    I grill smoke our turkey every year. I did a 22# bird this year in about 5 hours with maple and apple wood. Just yesterday I took what was remaining after we’d eaten our fill of leftovers and ground it in the food processor to freeze and use for burger meat. Mmmmm…..

  15. radish Says:

    Wow, this makes me want to go and get a grill. Like now. Of course, in a shoebox apartment without any outdoor area, one does wonder where one would keep/use it๐Ÿ™‚ one the sidewalk??


  16. Hillary: Didn’t we all?

    kate: Mmm applewood. I can just imagine it.

    radish: This is a fantastic mental image. The NYC sidewalk, a charcoal grill, a turkey: perfect.

  17. Tim Says:

    Oh wow, look at that skin…


Leave a Reply

