Thanksgiving Eve

November 26, 2008

pumpkinpie

Hello! I’ve got things to bake and cook and eat and drink, but I wanted to take a quick second to say hi, Happy Thanksgiving, safe travels, and all that. I hope you’re enjoying the holiday preparations as much as I am! What stage are you at? Baking? Shopping? Still planning the menu? Closing your eyes tight and hoping it will all just go away? Here’s a little glimpse of Thanksgiving Eve where I’m at:

butter1

pumpkinpie2

The pumpkin pie recipe, in case you’re wondering, is David Lebovitz’s Butternut Squash Pie, with pumpkin in place of butternut. Recipe here.

7 Responses to “Thanksgiving Eve”


  1. I am currently sitting after spending 4 hours in the kitchen baking 3 pies (including your chocolate silk!).

    I didn’t have luck with my own pie dough so I had to break down and buy Pillsbury. 😦 I’m so ashamed.

    Tomorrow, I need to finish the stuffing, make biscuits and the TURKEY!

    And Friday-SUN: Take home tax final and outlining😛

    Happy Thanksgiving Eve!

  2. Amanda Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving🙂 I am just baking my cheesecake and getting ready to start my pumpkin pie. The recipe you used looks good. I will have to try that one out next time… Be sure to gobble up that turkey tomorrow! I know I will…

  3. Monica h Says:

    Just finished making the entire meal for my in-laws. I’m exhausted!

    And yet I still have one more thing to bake for tomorrow festivities- chocolate ale cake🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Johanna Says:

    No Thanksgiving stress here in Germany … but I did present a baking-related project at university yesterday and baked 3 breads, 2 cakes, brownies, cinnamon rolls, cookies and some pizzaesque bread thingies in 8 1/2 hours. So maybe that counts, too.🙂

  5. culinography Says:

    Turkey’s ready to come out of the brine and go into the oven… two pies and eight individual ‘crustless’ servings are done… sweet potatoes are nearly ready for the oven… so, now it’s time to prep the mashed potatoes and veggies and start fluffing the tree!

    Happy Thanksgiving!!

  6. Brynn Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving birthday girl! Hope you’re having a wonderful one.

  7. Polly Says:

    Happy Birthday! Hope it was a great success even without Baker’s Square pies (or did a few sneak in?)!


Leave a Reply

