Do You Like My New Outfit?

October 27, 2008


Good morning!  I’ve got a “real” post lined up for you, but it won’t arrive until tonight.  In the meantime, though, I wanted to ask: do you like my new outfit?  After almost a year, I have undergone my first mini-blog makeover.  It’s simpler, brighter and more me.  I’ve got some more changes in the works and I really hope you’ll like those too.

Speaking of new and different, tonight’s post is my first-ever participation in a multi-blog event.  Stay tuned!  So, have a good day and I’ll see you back here in a few hours, okay?

18 Responses to “Do You Like My New Outfit?”

  1. Fenke Says:

    Actually, I have to say… No, I don’t. I really loved your old layout, especially the colours. This is sooo… normal. your old layout was more personal.

    I am sorry, I just realized, this was propably my first comment (I am a reader for quite a time now, love your pics and recipes) and then it is critical :-/…ups.

  2. Johanna Says:

    I like it! The old layout didn’t especially “bother” me, but I sure like the breathing space with this one. Especially if it is more “you”🙂 The photo header would be perfect for showcasing your favourite pictures (like, a different picture for each month or something like that). Another idea I just had was to choose a different color for the links, something else than “standard blue” – maybe that would soothe the “color lovers”😉

    Greetings from Germany,
    Johanna

  3. Monica h Says:

    I like the clean lines (read: no lines) of this, but I liked the blue…sorry😦

    I do like the header though!

  4. Monica h Says:

    I was thinking (while in the shower)🙂

    I think I liked the old layout better, not necessarily the color because it had more personality. The light blue really had nothing to do with food, so it’s not the color I’m attached to, maybe we’re just creatures of habit?

    I’m sorry to offer a bad criticism. I know how much work you’ve put into this and I do have to say I enjoy the ease of use of this website (the tabs up top). No matter what your blog looks like (as long as it’s not hot pink) though, I’ll still be here reading and drooling over your yummy pics and recipes.

    Hopefully not offended,
    Monica

  5. Raji Says:

    I’ve been reading your blog for a long time.. my first comment🙂 I love the new layout!!

  6. Whitney Says:

    I like it but make “The Kitchen Sink” colorful or in a cool font or something🙂

  7. Dawn in CA Says:

    Hi Kristin – what, you aren’t busy enough at the new lawyer gig so you decided to spend your free time revamping the blog?😉 Just kidding. Here are my humble comments about the new look:

    Like – clean, simple design. Easy, user-friendly layout. Nice photo in the banner (is that what it’s called? I’m still on the fringes of the blogging world). Great photo of you in the About section — I’ve always been so smitten with your recipes that I don’t think I’ve ever checked the About section before!

    Dislike – the colors. Of course I don’t know you at all except from your blog, but your food photographs, family stories, and especially the posts about your trip to the Rockies all lead me to believe that a more “natural” color palette (a la “black/white/earth/green tones” with maybe a dash of “deep red”) might be more fitting.

    Even if it stays just as it is today, I will still love your blog! Honestly, I think it’s amazing that people find the time to start, and keep up, a blog at all — something I have yet to do. Yours is one of my favorites, so thanks!

  8. GS Says:

    I’ll keep coming back for your stories, photos and recipes regardless of the color of your blog. I like this one just fine!

  9. Melissa Says:

    I underwent a similar transformation to white a short time back. It just feels so simple and clean, yes? Congratulations on the revamp.

    Can’t wait to see what you have going on with the multi-blog post. You know I’ll be back to check. 😉

  10. Ali Says:

    I’ve been here from the beginning and continue to be amazed how you’ve transformed the Kitchen Sink into one of mine as well as many others favorite daily routines. With that being said, I LOVE the new outfit and think it fits you perfectly!

  11. Mimi Says:

    Oh, no…the new look is terrible…it’s really, really boring…why go from color to just plain white?? It reminds me of a newspaper…you went from an interesting food magazine to a boring newspaper (so to speak). I’ll continue visiting because I’m already hooked, but if this had been the look my first time here, I would’ve never stayed around long enough to realize how great it is.

  12. ronnissweettooth Says:

    I like the old one better. I think it had more personality. This one looks similar to many other sites. That said, I still love your words and recipes and will, obviously, continue to visit your site.


  13. Wow! I had NO idea so many of you were attached to the blue/pink theme. Thank you all for the feedback (keep it coming!).

    As I said in the post, I am working (with my very, very generous friend) on a more comprehensive makeover. For now, though, this is a fun change (especially because it only took a couple clicks on WordPress to achieve).

    Thanks again, everyone!

  14. Betsy Says:

    It sounds like this is a work in progress, but I think I prefer the more colorful old layout as well. But, I look forward to seeing how your makeover unfolds.

  15. Tiffany Says:

    Sorry to say: I like the old one too…but the new clean look is growing on me🙂 I’ll keep reading no matter what though!

  16. Luke Says:

    I say you’re moving in the right direction.

    I always thought the aesthetic of the old header was badly matched to that of the more polished photos you provide. It’s a little bland at the moment, but it’s a better base.


Leave a Reply

