Multi-Tasking

July 28, 2008

I’ve always considered myself quite a multi-tasker. But for the last few weeks of bar exam studies (it’s tomorrow!), I’ve taken it to a whole new level. I’ve been multi-multi-tasking. I can study for the bar exam while doing just about anything. There’s the obvious multi-taskable activities: riding the El, sweating on the elliptical trainer, waiting for the coffee to slowly drip its way into the pot. But everything I actually like doing is not all that multi-taskable. Cooking and grocery shopping, for instance, are decidedly (blissfully) focused and single-minded. You cannot exactly flip through flash cards when you’re wielding sharp knives or hovering over an open flame. And one should not have her nose in a book as she wends her way through a farmers’ market. But! But I have found a way to make blogging multi-taskable. That’s right, today (Bar Exam Eve, if you will) I am not only blogging, I’m also menu planning for the week!

I’m taking a page out of Eggs on Sunday‘s Amy’s book, who has been allowing us a glimpse into her weekly CSA boxes, giving us an idea of how she’s planning to put her pretty pile of produce to use. I’m also kind of boasting about the gorgeous bounty I hauled home from the farmers’ market yesterday morning:

Can you blame me? As you can see, I nabbed some bi-color sweet corn, as close to candy as a vegetable can get; a collection of summer squashes, in various shapes and sizes; a heap of tomatoes, half bite-sized, half as big as apples; and a handful or so of beans, green, yellow and purple.

(Click more for the week’s menus, more photos & a recipe.)

First, the beans. I was a total sucker for the purple ones (even though they’ll turn green when cooked). These will be going into a much more seasonal reprise of this salad, which I last made—quite impatiently—in March (the shame). It will go alongside a burger, because it’s almost August and I’ve only had one this summer. In other words, unacceptable.

Next up, the tomatoes. If I can manage not to eat these out-of-hand, sprinkling on a little sea salt between every juicy bite, then they’ll slip between slices of fresh mozzarella and pungent basil leaves in a caprese salad.

Moving right along, I got two baskets’ worth of these summer squash. I’m planning to use these this week in a reprise of my dinner on Saturday night: roasted up with some of those cherry tomatoes up above, in a slick of basil-and-balsamic-spiked olive oil. Topped with some crumbles of goat cheese, it’s so good you might cry. Come to think of it, that could have just been the impending bar exam. Hmm.

And then, the corn. No adornments necessary here. We’ll be eating this straight up, munching through our freshly-boiled ears, typewriter-style.

Last but not least, I have a sad little “recipe” to share. It’s a very easy, new take on peaches and cream and I’m completely taken by it. It’s light and tangy and simple and a lovely dessert, but in a pinch it’ll double for breakfast. Call it a multi-tasker.

Peaches & Cream: Updated

Serves 2

1 peach, pitted and sliced
1/3 cup Greek yogurt
1 1/2 teaspoons brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanlla

Arrange the peach slices in two small bowls. In another bowl, combine the yogurt, sugar and vanilla. Scoop a dollop of the sweetened yogurt on top of each of the bowls of peaches.

12 Responses to “Multi-Tasking”

  1. Alex Rihm Says:

    Good luck Kristin! I think this beautiful bounty from the farmer’s market is a good omen for tomorrow!

  2. Lauren Says:

    With all the care, energy, and sense of humor you put into cooking and blogging, I’m sure you were a great bar exam studier and will be a fabulous lawyer. Best of luck!

  3. Whitney Says:

    Good Luck tomorrow! I am sure that you will rock the Bar. How you going to spend Thursday for your first day of post-Bar freedom?

  4. Haley Says:

    We’d like to invite you to participate in our July berry recipe contest. All competitors will be placed on our blogroll, and the winner will receive a fun prize! Please email me, haleyglasco@gmail.com, if you’re interested. Feel free to check out our blog for more details: http://blog.keyingredient.com/2008/06/06/key-ingredient-cooks-kitchen-recipe-contest/

    Thanks,
    Haley
    KI Blogger

  5. Stephanie Says:

    Good luck! Been visiting for awhile and want to say hello. I love your blog. The veggies look beautiful!!!

  6. Ali Says:

    This special treat reminds me of your favorite song… Peaches and Cream. I’m sure 112 would like a serving of this!🙂

  7. K8 Says:

    Best of luck!!!! I will say that I am coveting your tomatoes a bit. A dash salt over the sink sounds just fine by me.

  8. JEP Says:

    You will do amazing on the exam. Gorgeous photos…I’m trying the peaches & cream tonite!


  9. Best of luck on your exam tomorrow!


  10. Thanks, everyone!

    Ali: You’ve lost me. Who/what/where is 112? And I don’t know that song. Thanks for outing me as the less hip sister.

    JEP: Good to see you back here!

  11. Amy Says:

    What gorgeous produce! I love the eight-ball zucchinis, and of course those tomatoes are so, so beautiful. Just getting caught up on blog reading after being away last week for work, and so happy to see all your great stuff. I have those three colors of beans in my fridge right now…lovely, lovely. Thanks for sharing! –Amy


  12. Amy: Thanks! We are suckers for multi-hued veggies, me and you.


Leave a Reply

