An End-Run

July 3, 2008

One of my greatest regrets of my short blogging career is that I blew through many of my favorite recipes right off the bat—before I learned to snap a decent photo or even really use WordPress. As I’ve mentioned before, patience really isn’t my strong suit. And while I kick myself for squandering quite a few recipes on bad lighting and poor formatting, I regret one recipe more than the rest: our banana bread.

I could write dozens more posts about it—about my continued experimentations with it (I recently cut the sugar in half … and liked it); about how we’ve taken to traveling with it, stashing a loaf deep in one of our suitcases (coughKevin’ssuitcasecough); about how my friend Emily, thanks to the recipe, has now contracted what she calls “a bit of a banana bread problem” that might actually rival my own (to put it briefly: it involves more than one loaf per week; enough said). But noooo, I can’t write about any of this because I already posted on the banana bread way back when.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

So I suppose it’s not all that shocking that I’ve found an end-run: banana-sour cream sorbet. It has all the flavors of banana bread, only colder. It was born out of the sour cream sorbet I adore at one of our favorite neighborhood restaurants. I don’t usually make a habit of trying to emulate the creations of one of Chicago’s best pastry chefs—but if it meant a banana-bread-esque blog post, I was all for it.

I loosely started with a Marcus Samuelsson recipe and improvised as I went along (a glug of bourbon here, another plop of sour cream there)—knowing full well that I was headed for either disaster or delight. Happily, what emerged from the ice cream maker was delight. It was also lightly tangy, comfortingly banana-y, slightly boozy (I told you the bourbon would be back), and flecked with bittersweet chocolate shards. I could’ve eaten it for breakfast the next day, in lieu of my standard slice of (you guessed it!) banana bread, but it was all gone. Sniff.

Banana-Sour Cream Sorbet

1 tablespoon sugar
1 cup water
1/2 tablespoon corn syrup
2 ripe bananas
juice from 1 lemon
1 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 tablespoon bourbon
pinch salt
2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped

In a medium saucepan, bring sugar, water and corn syrup to a boil. Let cool.

Meanwhile, puree the bananas in a food processor. Transfer to a medium bowl and add the lemon juice, sour cream, vanilla, bourbon and salt; mix. Add the cooled water/sugar/corn syrup mixture.

Churn in an ice cream maker and freeze until needed.

8 Responses to “An End-Run”

  1. Emily Says:

    Hey there!!!! Any advice as to what kind of ice cream maker to get? I am thinking of picking one up but have no idea what features/brands are best.

  2. Amanda Says:

    I think you should revive the old past posts. Brush the dust off of them!

  3. Mia Says:

    I am SO into bourbon right now – lately it’s been in vanilla ice cream and brownies….your sorbet looks fantastic!

  4. Erinn Says:

    The icecream looks delectable, but I had to click the link to the banana bread recipe. Is it a conicidence that I happen to have a bunch of bananas that for some odd reason haven’t been eaten and are on the verge of going bad? I think not! I’m soooo excited. Thank you for your love of banana bread!

  5. brilynn Says:

    You know how I love ice cream! I’ve bookmarked this one to try as soon as I get get my bananas to ripen!


  6. Emily: I received this one as a gift, so I didn’t do any shopping around. That said, I’ve been very happy with this one. It’s got a 2-quart capacity which is plenty big for me. And the bowl is a nice size to fit into even my very narrow freezer. Actually, that’s my biggest ice cream maker tip: keep the bowl in the freezer at all times . There’s nothing worse than going through the trouble to make and chill the ice cream/frozen yogurt/etc mixture and having to wait for the bowl to freeze.

    Amanda: An excellent idea. Perhaps I’ll do that come fall (many of the recipes were fall/winter-y, given the time).

    Mia: Oooh, bourbon in brownies and vanilla ice cream? Swoon.

    Erinn: Hope you like the banana bread! Let us know.

    brilynn: I hope you like it! Let us know how it goes.

  7. Emily Says:

    I have to comment on the banana bread again… I made it for my family this week, and they continued to ask for it every day that I was home. So good. Now I have to get brave and try making sorbet!


  8. Emily: That’s so great to hear! Thanks for reporting back. Good luck with the sorbet. If you try it, let us know …


Leave a Reply

