Cherry-Almond Coffee Cake

June 10, 2008

As I munched on a slice of this delicious coffee cake—bedecked with sour cherries and infused with almond—for breakfast yesterday morning, I was delighted to read Amy’s responses to a meme at Eggs on Sunday and to see that she’d tagged me. So, here goes:

What were you doing ten years ago?
I was finishing up my junior year of high school, playing a lot of soccer and looking forward to a summer full of college visits, lakes, cabins and grilling. Life was hard.

What are five non-work things on my to-do list for today?
1) pick up a six-pack of beer (What? We’re making beer can chicken in a couple days)
2) salt the chickens (a la the Zuni Café dry brine method) for the aforementioned beer can chicken
3) water the plants
4) return some phone calls and emails (I have been soooo bad at this since I started studying for the Bar Exam)
5) get ready for dinner tonight—we’re having Kevin’s sister, who’s in Chicago for the week (!), over

(Click more for the rest of the meme, more photos & the recipe.)

What snacks do you enjoy?
1) apples and peanut butter
2) carrots and hummus
3) banana bread
4) granola
5) pickles

What would you do if you were a billionaire?
1) hire a cleaning service
2) buy Kevin some Cubs season tickets
3) get a farm house, a lake house, a beach house …
4) work on healthful food issues (healthful for both people and the environment), particularly in lower income communities
5) write

Where have you lived?
1) Minnesota: born in Duluth; raised in a suburb of Saint Paul
2) Evanston, Illinois: college
3) New York, New York: an internship with a magazine for a term during college
4) Washington, DC: Dupont Circle for a year and Chinatown for the other year
5) Chicago, IL: law school and beyond

What jobs have you had?
1) babysitter extrordinaire
2) barista at Caribou Coffee during high school
3) outdoor store employee during college
4) public relations/fundraising for a non-profit organization
5) law clerk at a big Chicago law firm, where I’ll be returning this fall

And I am tagging:
Katy at Sugarlaws
Joy at Joy The Baker
Amanda at Slow like Honey
Melody at My Sweet & Saucy
Grace at A Southern Grace

Hope you enjoyed this different sort of post today. Back to our regularly scheduled programming tomorrow.

Cherry-Almond Coffee Cake
Adapted from Cooking Light

Topping:
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup regular oats
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons chilled unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
pinch salt

Cake:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
1 cup Greek yogurt
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract
1 large egg
Cooking spray
1 1/2 cups pitted cherries, quartered
3 tablespoons slivered almonds

Preheat oven to 350°.

To prepare topping, lightly spoon 1/4 cup flour into a dry measuring cup, and level with a knife. Combine flour, brown sugar, oats, cinnamon and salt in a small bowl; cut in 2 tablespoons butter with a pastry blender or 2 knives until mixture resembles coarse meal. Set aside.

To prepare the cake, lightly spoon 1 1/2 cups flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl; set aside. Beat granulated sugar and 2 tablespoons butter at medium speed of a mixer. Add the yogurt, extracts, and egg; beat well. Add flour mixture, and beat at low speed until well-blended (batter will be thick). Fold in the pitted cherries. Spread the batter in the bottom of a 9-inch round cake pan coated with cooking spray. Sprinkle the topping over the batter. Sprinkle the almonds over the topping. Bake at 350° for 40 to 45 minutes, until a tester comes out clean. Cool completely on a wire rack.

10 Responses to “Cherry-Almond Coffee Cake”

  1. Amanda Says:

    I noticed a few things that I must ask for more details. You did an internship with a mag in NYC?? Do tell!! All the juicy details, please. And PR for a non-profit?! That’s basically what I am on track to do right now. As soon as I graduate this December, I am off to the big bad world of public relations/affairs in govt or non-profit… Talk about a small world… Thanks for the tag🙂

  2. eggsonsunday Says:

    Great to know more about you, Kristin! Hiring a cleaning service…hmmm, that’s a fabulous idea. Sounds like you’ve had some pretty cool, jobs, too — and oh, the coffee cake? YUM! That bowl of cherries is calling my name…so dark red and juicy!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    I’ve never commented on your blog before and instead like to just lurk, but we have a lot in common!

    I was raised in a suburb of St. Paul. I worked as a barista at Caribou while in high school. My brother just graduated from Northwestern law school and is now working at a law firm downtown Chicago. My sister used to live in Dupont Circle while working at a non-profit. Small world.

    Anyway, your blog is lovely, and that cake looks delicious!

  4. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    Amanda: You are funny. The NYC mag was National Geographic Adventure. (I bet you were hoping for a fashion mag, so I’m sorry to disappoint!) My brief stint in the non-profit world was in DC. Are you thinking about the other coast?

    Amy: Thanks again for the tag!

    Anonymous: Thanks for commenting! That’s a crazy list of similarities. I bet I’m in Bar Review with your brother (assuming “just” graduated means a couple weeks ago).


  5. I’m in love with that cake! I have a ton of leftover cherries and a brand new cherry pitter. I’d better get to work!


  6. This coffee cake is just lovely! Cherry and almond is an all time favorite of mine! And you’ve tagged me. I’ve been tagged before and I never really participated, but I like the questions and I so liked reading about you that I think I want to play along this time. Thanks for thinking of me!

  7. grace Says:

    first and foremost, what a fantastic coffee cake. i tend to like a little moistness in mine, and yours looks properly tender. plus, there’re cherries, so i automatically love it.
    secondly, thanks for the tag–i’m looking forward to playing!


  8. Kristin (beautiful name!), barista?? That is so interesting!
    And so is this cake – I would love to try a slice right now.

  9. Amanda Says:

    Oh no, working for a fashion magazine is overrated (did you read the devil wears prada? talk about scary…). While I love California, I do think that I might head over yonder to the East coast eventually. I fell in love with NYC last year and the PR world there is HUGE. Tons of nonprofits and lots of city work to be done there.

  10. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    Susan: A brand new cherry pitter? You are a lucky lady. I so wish I had one (as does my apron and my fingers, which were both drenched in cherry juice pitting the cherries for this cake).

    Joy: Thanks! I look forward to reading your answers!

    Grace: Thanks! It’s definitely tender, especially given the small amount of butter—thanks, I think, to the yogurt and fresh fruit. Can’t wait to see your answer to the meme!

    Patricia: Thanks! Actually, you have a name that is very dear to me, because you share it with my grandma, my mother in law, two close friends and my sister (it’s her middle name).

    Amanda: I fall in love with New York every time I’m there. Good luck with the job search!


Leave a Reply

