Bar Food

June 2, 2008

At the risk of sounding like someone completely unfit to practice law, it kind of hit me on Saturday just how overwhelming this whole Bar Exam business is going to be. For one thing, I had a Bar Review class on a Saturday morning. The gall. And during the class, we spent exactly one hour “learning” a topic that I just spent an entire semester learning. In other words, there’s a lot to cover in a short amount of time and, well, it all felt a little daunting on Saturday.

So, when Kevin left for the Cubs game that day, I was all too happy to hole up with my books for the afternoon. By the time I emerged, my brain felt a bit swollen and my stomach was rumbling louder than the El train outside our back windows. Not feeling much like heading to the store, I took a gander in the fridge and pantry and threw together a quick pasta.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

I’m happy to say that the culinary stars seemed to align for me, allowing a mish-mash of ingredients to come together into something great. They must have known that it had been the kind of day that called for a seriously comforting and completely delicious meal. And that’s just what this pasta was. Even better: it was quick, which allowed me to bury myself under my books again lickety-split.

Rigatoni with Zucchini & Fresh Ricotta

1/2 pound of rigatoni
2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 small zucchini, halved and sliced into thin half moons
1 garlic clove, minced
1 small carton Greek yogurt
1/2 cup prepared marinara
2 tablespoons freshly-grated parmesan, plus more for serving
2 tablespoons chopped chives, plus more for serving
1/4 teaspoon freshly-grated nutmeg
salt and pepper
2 tablespoons fresh ricotta
chile flakes, for serving (optional)

Cook the rigatoni in a pot of boiling, salted water until al dente. Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the onions, garlic and zucchini and cook for several minutes, until the vegetables are softened. Remove from heat and add the yogurt, marinara, parmesan, chives, nutmeg and salt and pepper. Stir to combine. Add the cooked rigatoni to the zucchini sauce.

Divide the pasta between two bowls. Top each bowl with bits of the fresh ricotta. Serve with a dusting of parmesan, a sprinkle of chopped chives and chile flakes, if desired.

3 Responses to “Bar Food”


  1. I’m so in love with that first picture… but, yuck, Saturday classes? You poor girl!

  2. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    Robin: Thank you! Both Kevin and I liked something about that photo too. And as for the Saturday classes, it’s my idea of cruel & unusual punishment (8th Amendment! See I’m not blogging, I’m studying!), but I’ll only have a couple more.

  3. katy Says:

    bar review is miserable — but it will be over quickly! and it feels great when you leave and realize you’ll never have to take another test again (unless you move to california). this looks AWESOME though!


Leave a Reply

