Worth a Study Break

May 12, 2008

I’m in the middle of final exams—one today and my last. one. ever. on Thursday. And I have to admit that during the last week or so, meals as we usually know them have fallen by the wayside. There have been bowls of steamed veggies masquerading as dinner, teacups full of Kashi calling themselves lunch and absurd needs for a bite of mint chip ice cream right this very second. And Kevin has had just about enough of the leftover meatball sandwiches.

Given this set of circumstances, I suppose it’s not shocking that I made this pureed fava bean dip, which is the kind of thing that you can lazily graze on while studying. It’s even worth excavating a clear space on my desk, amid the stacks of books and papers. But given how time consuming (to put it mildly) it is to shell fresh favas, it is a bit surprising that that I’ve made this dip three times in the last 10 days.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

I’ve barely had time to do laundry or answer emails, but I’ve managed to carve out the time to shell three pounds of favas. Sure, it may raise some questions about my priorities, but it should also tell you that this dip is really, really good. It’s sunny, velvety and just a little bit smoky. I’ve smeared it on all kinds of veggies, dragged fresh pita and pita chips through it and I’ve also eaten it straight up (thankyouverymuch). So make it quick, before these chartreuse beans disappear from the markets entirely.

Fava Bean Dip

3 tablespoons plus one teaspoon extra virgin olive oil, divided
1 small onion, diced
1 garlic clove, minced
1 teaspoon cumin
1/8 teaspoon cayenne
1 pound of fava beans, shelled (about 1 cup of beans, once shelled)
juice of one lemon
salt, to taste

Heat one teaspoon of the oil in a non-stick skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and garlic and cook for several minutes, until softened. Add the shelled favas, cumin and cayenne and cook for one minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and let it cool slightly.

In a food processor fitted with a blade attachment, pulse the fava bean mixture until coarsely ground. Add the lemon juice and pulse several times to combine. While the processor is running, stream in two to three tablespoons of the oil, until you reach your desired consistency. Salt to taste.

5 Responses to “Worth a Study Break”

  1. Ali Says:

    3 more times?!?! I’m so jealous, you know I loved the fava… It truly was a little bowl of heaven!

  2. Robin Says:

    Wow, you’ve sold me. I’m soo making this dip this week. I’ve been wanting to get into the whole dipping vegetables in vegetable dip as a snack thing. Thanks!

  3. Chez US Says:

    Great idea, we love Favas and especially the fresh kind. Will be trying out this wonderful idea!


  4. This sounds great! I love fava beans and as a dip they would be great!

  5. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    Ali: It’s not like I was hiding it from you or anything. Nope, I would never do that.

    Robin: Oh, good! Let me know what you think.

    Chez Us: I adore favas too. Give it a try!

    Gretchen: Thank you!


Leave a Reply

