The Bright Side

April 9, 2008

We’ve had a couple cold, grey, blustery days. Essentially, it’s been spring in Chicago. So what can I do? I could sit here and lament the fact that I had to pull out my full-length, wind-battered down jacket again this morning. I could explain just how odd it is to watch the Cubs play when I am huddled under a snuggly throw, wondering how Kevin would react if I asked him to light up the fireplace. I could describe how close I come to weeping when I see the first buds of spring, shivering sadly in the stiff breeze.

Sure, I could do all of that. But nope, not this time. Instead, I’m going to focus on the positive. It’s going to be a glass-half-full spring, if I have any say in it. So, instead of complaining about the temperatures (seriously, are we still dipping into the 30s?) or the bleak skies (and I thought seasonal affective disorder ended when the calendar flipped to April), I’m going to choose to remember—no, bask in the remembrance of—the weekend past.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

This last weekend, for two glorious days, Mother Nature seemed to notice Chicago and, for once, take pity on us. She must have realized that this city’s shoulders are only so broad, and that even we Windy City-dwellers need a dose of blazing, blinding sunshine and an unpainful climate every once in a while.

And, Mother Nature? If you’re listening, I just want to say thanks. We appreciated it. You should’ve seen this town. People were outside (!) and they were smiling (!!). I saw people in shorts, an infant in oversized pink sunglasses and restaurants setting up their patio tables. And, Mother Nature? Lest you think that I didn’t do my part to celebrate your benevolence, may I direct your attention to the margaritas splashed across this post? They might feature a winter staple (blood oranges), but served ice cold and sipped on our deck on Sunday, every last drop tasted like balmy weather (actually, the last couple drops are a little hazy because, whoops, these are on the strong side, but I’m sure they still tasted summery).

So with the rain beating down (plump drops literally started pinging against the windows as I was typing this post) I choose to remember Saturday and Sunday, because for all I know, we might not see another day like either of those until June. In the meantime, I’ll tuck away this recipe for the next rainy (cold, miserable, awful, unbearable) day. Nope, no complaints from me.

Blood Orange Margaritas

Yield: 4 Servings

1 1/4 cup freshly-squeezed blood orange juice, plus 4 thin slices (for garnish)
1/4 cup freshly-squeezed lime juice, plus four wedges (for garnish)
1 cup tequila
1/4 cup Cointreau or triple sec
salt (I used fine-grain sea salt) (for garnish)

Place four margarita glasses in the freezer to chill. Mix the juices, tequila and triple sec in a pitcher; refrigerate for at least an hour (or until very cold).

Pour the salt into a shallow bowl. Remove the glasses from the freezer. Run a lime wedge around the rim of one glass. Invert the glass in the salt, twisting to coat the rim with salt. Repeat with the remaining glasses. Divide the chilled margaritas between the four glasses and enjoy.

8 Responses to “The Bright Side”

  1. Brynn Says:

    2 of my favorite things – blood oranges and margaritas! I’ll have to try one (or many!) of these myself.

  2. Erin Says:

    These look so good! Especially right now while I’m sitting in my office bored out of my head wishing for booze.


  3. Aren’t this delic ….we love them! I was just thinking how I need to buy out the store and squeeze away for the reminder of the next couple months – before they are all gone! I add a kick of ginger to it, as well, very yummy!

  4. suzannemarya Says:

    OMG it’s so not fair that I’m pregnant! Gorgeous photographs, by the way.

  5. RecipeGirl Says:

    Is 1pm too early for a Margarita??🙂

  6. Hillary Says:

    That looks beautifully delicious! I love blood oranges and love that you used slices for garnish too. Just gorgeous.

  7. norecipes Says:

    Nice photos! They make me wish the weekend were here already.

  8. Jazzy Says:

    OMG, these look delicious!


Leave a Reply

