I’m a Brownie Believer

March 27, 2008

brownies11.jpg

Back to the sweet taste of success today (ha! sweet — get it?). It was slightly painful to re-live the whole ugly birthday cake debacle yesterday, so I’m more than happy to move on to a birthday treat that was neither error-prone nor hard to look at. When I saw these brownies featured on the wonderful baking blog Bake or Break, something about them caught my eye, even though I’m not a huge brownie fan (Kevin is googling Chicago-area divorce lawyers after reading that, I’m sure). I couldn’t quite put my finger on what it was, though. When I saw RecipeGirl make the same brownies recently, it hit me: these are exactly like the kind of brownie my stepdad (an avowed brownie connoisseur) would adore. Even better, his birthday was mere weeks away, so I decided then and there that I would arrive in Minnesota last Friday (two days after his birthday), bearing these brownies.

brownies1.jpg

brownies2.jpg

brownies3.jpg

brownies4.jpg

brownies5.jpg

brownies61.jpg

Little did I know, I would be delayed on the runway for quite some time at O’Hare en route to Minnesota (I think I’ve mentioned the pesky Easter blizzard …). We were stranded on the tarmac for a long time and I was hungry. I am not too proud to admit that I strongly considering busting into the pan of these delectable brownies, which were stashed in my purse. Thankfully, my plane got cleared for takeoff just before the hunger hit code-blue level, so these brownies made it to Minnesota and the birthday boy intact.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

brownies7.jpg

brownies8.jpg

brownies9.jpg

brownies10.jpg

These are the kind of brownies that will make a believer out of the most brownie averse among us (what? I can’t be the only one!). If the unbelievably lush layer of brownies (made rich and moist by the inclusion of mascarpone, an addition that is nothing short of brilliant) isn’t enough for you, may I direct your attention to the bordering-on-obscenely-thick layer of the darkest chocolate ganache lid that tops the brownies? I don’t know how else to say it: these brownies were a magnified version of chocolate, both cakey and fudgy. And while we’re on the topic of these brownies’ conversion powers, let me tell you this. I haven’t poured myself a glass of milk in years. But the smallest bite of these brownies made me want to just that. Tell me you could resist:

brownies12.jpg

Chocolate Mascarpone Brownies
Cookworks Show on Food Network Canada via Recipezaar

For the Brownies:

1 cup unsalted butter (plus more for preparing pan)
3 ounces semisweet chocolate, finely chopped
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup mascarpone cheese, softened
3 large eggs, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 325°. Butter an 8-inch square glass baking pan and set aside.

Place the butter and chocolate in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave at half power in 30 second intervals, stirring between each heating. Continue until both are completely melted.

Sift sugar and cocoa powder. Add to the butter/chocolate mixture. Beat in (by hand) the mascarpone, eggs, and vanilla extract until smooth. Fold in flour and salt.

Pour batter into pan and spread evenly.

Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool in pan on cooling rack.

For the Ganache:

6 ounces semisweet chocolate, finely chopped
6 tablespoons heavy cream
3 Tablespoons unsalted butter

Place chopped chocolate in a small bowl. Set aside.

In a small saucepan, heat the butter and cream over medium heat, stirring constantly. When mixture is almost boiling, pour over the chocolate. Let stand for 30 seconds. Then, stir until smooth.

Pour ganache over cooled brownies and spread evenly.

Allow ganache to firm before cutting brownies. Brownies may be placed in refrigerator to expedite this.

18 Responses to “I’m a Brownie Believer”

  1. katie102006 Says:

    These are, seriously, the most AMAZING brownies I’ve EVER SEEN! I am SOO starring this recipe and making it SOON!


  2. So am I!🙂
    These look sinful and oh, so good.

  3. amanda Says:

    If I were you, I’d have busted out that pan in the plane. Sitting on the tarmac and being hungry is the worst!

  4. Deborah Says:

    These look like the perfect brownies!!

  5. katy Says:

    oh my goodness… i can feel my pants getting tighter just looking at those! your stepdad is so lucky!

  6. rachel Says:

    They look beautiful.

  7. Tartelette Says:

    If I had been security, I would have made you share!!

  8. Jerry Says:

    This just looks delicious and fudgy!

  9. Patsyk Says:

    That looks like the perfect brownie recipe! Good to see it converted you to a brownie lover!

  10. eggsonsunday Says:

    I have this recipe on my “to cook” list also, and after seeing your pictures, it’s going up to the top — these look SO good!! I can just taste the tart creamy mascarpone with the chocolate…mmm!

  11. Steph Says:

    These brownies look absolutely sinful!

  12. brilynn Says:

    Oooh those look so good! You’ve got me craving brownies again!

  13. megan Says:

    I made these brownies and they are my favorite!
    Easy to make and just the best.


  14. My god these look fantastic!!!

  15. ourkitchensink Says:

    Thanks everyone!

  16. Kevin Says:

    Those brownies look nice moist and fudge like and good!

  17. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    Thanks, Kevin! You’ve got a great site — gorgeous photos!

  18. Indigo Says:

    I saw these on Bake or Break, resolved to make them four or five times a week, and then promptly forgot about them – thanks so much for reminding me! They look just as gorgeous this time around ^__^


Leave a Reply

