Best Leftovers Ever

March 9, 2008

brisketsand2.jpeg

Did you miss me? Sorry for my brief absence (I told you I couldn’t keep that pace up), but between an ethics exam in the morning yesterday and a dinner party last night, yesterday was a leetle busy. But, the ethics exam is over (!) and the dinner party was a smashing success. So, it’s back to the blog.

brisketsand1.jpeg

One of the things we made for last night’s dinner was a brisket I’ve already blogged about. More on other aspects of the dinner later this week. But, for now, I can’t resist sharing photos of what could possibly be the best leftovers ever: a brisket sandwich.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story & more photos.)

brisketsand4.jpeg

I piled the leftover brisket onto thick slices of hearty bread. I topped that with a drizzle of the the brisket’s leftover zinfandel sauce and roasted onions and thick slices of sharp cheddar. A quick grill in the panini pan later, we had the perfect sandwich. The only bad news is that we only had enough leftover brisket for one sandwich. Kevin had to fight me for it, but he won. I am truly powerless against his puppy dog eyes.

brisketsand3.jpeg

The recipe for Zinfandel-Braised Brisket is here.

5 Responses to “Best Leftovers Ever”

  1. jen Says:

    beautiful pictures you have there…certainly looks delicious.

  2. PaniniKathy Says:

    Looks and sounds fantastic! Great idea about drizzling the pan juices on top. I have to agree, this kind of sandwich is indeed the best kind of leftovers! By coincidence, I actually made very similar sandwiches tonight with leftover tri-tip – I also went with sharp cheddar, sauteed some leftover green & yellow peppers and red onions that I’d prepped for a salad and the bread was a rosemary bread.

  3. RecipeGirl Says:

    That does look delicious, and I love the perfect marks on the bread. Did you use a panini press?

  4. ourkitchensink Says:

    Jen: Thanks!

    PaniniKathy:Thank you! Your sandwich sounds incredible.

    RecipeGirl: Thanks! I used our panini grill pan, which is basically a square grill pan with high sides and a very heavy lid that has a grill surface as well. Picture here. To get the criss-cross grill marks, half through each side’s grill, I rotated the sandwich 90 degrees.

  5. Kevin Says:

    That sandwich looks so good! Great photos!


Leave a Reply

