Light at the End of the Tunnel

February 17, 2008

soba-salad.jpg

As I mentioned (okay, fine, as I whined) yesterday morning (so, so early in the morning), my Saturday (the one and only Saturday I get this week) was primarily dedicated to a five hour prep class for the legal ethics exam that I’ll be sitting for in a couple weeks. As if the thought of number two pencils and multiple choice questions weren’t enough, this exam also wanted to take up my favorite day of the week.

soba-salad2.jpg

As you might guess (or as you have surely gathered by now), this scenario left me a little cranky. And, which I was cranky, I do have to tell you that there was a very, very bright spot at the end of the tunnel yesterday. For one, the sun had deigned to shine and the mercury had taken it upon itself to rise above freezing temperatures. So, I had a leisurely neighborhood stroll (albeit one that involved carefully navigating through un-shoveled sidewalks (really, people: shovel … honestly) and slushy, melty puddles) to look forward to. But mother nature wasn’t the only one providing a bright spot after my prep course.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

soba-salad3.jpg

Beyond that, I was knew that a chariot (a Subaru), driven by Prince Charming (my husband), would arrive to pick me up and whisk me out of the loop (on a Saturday!!!) and back home, following the course. And, not only that, but he would also come bearing Lunch.

soba-salad4.jpg

Now, weekend lunch is not a subject I take lightly. I consider the tastiness of my homemade turkey sandwich to be a very personal badge of honor. And I deem a deli sufficient for midday Saturday/Sunday fare only after much thought and many trials. So, you know I wasn’t going to let some prep course come between me and one of my favorite meals of the week. No, sir. I had planned for just this very scenario. I knew I’d be tired, bored and irritated-that-I’d-just-spent-half-a-Saturday-doing-that after my class. And I figured a soba noodle salad—spicy, tart, filling and satisfying—would be just the thing I’d need. And, I was right. Now, if I could only guarantee such a success rate on the professional responsibility exam …

Sesame Soba Noodle Salad

1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon grated ginger
1 teaspoon fresh lime juice
1 teaspoon dark sesame oil

4 ounces soba noodles, cooked according to the package
1 cup julienned carrot (2 inch pieces)
1 cup julienned English cucumber (2 inch pieces)
2 cups shredded cabbages (I used a combination of red and Napa)
1 cup thinly sliced scallions
1 tablespoon sesame seeds (I used black)
red chili flakes, to taste
salt, to taste

In the bottom of a large bowl, whisk together the vinegar, mustard, soy sauce, ginger, lime juice & sesame oil. Add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl and toss. Serve hot or cold, with lime wedges.

4 Responses to “Light at the End of the Tunnel”

  1. Kim Says:

    Looks tasty! Top with a few lime grilled shrimp… When will you know your results of your exam?

  2. ourkitchensink Says:

    Kim: Agree — this would be great with a protein. I take the exam in March and find out a few weeks after that. So, not for a while. Thanks for the comment.

  3. Lemmonex Says:

    I made pretty much this exact salad last weekend, with seared tuna. Fantastic.

  4. ourkitchensink Says:

    Lemmonex: Mmm, seared tuna is another great protein idea.


Leave a Reply

