Post Holiday Detox

December 27, 2007

greeksalad1.jpeg

I often ask Kevin: “What do you want for dinner?” He often replies: “Hmm. Can I have a few minutes to think about it?” Well, by the time he might be ready to answer, I’ve usually dreamed up a menu of my own. So, I was pleasantly surprised yesterday when, on our way home from Minnesota, I asked Kevin this very question. And he barely blinked before saying, “Load me up with veggies.”

greeksalad3.jpeg

After a weekend of indulgence, I suppose I shouldn’t have been surprised by his response. My body was calling for wholesomeness too. As if to support this conclusion, when I asked my sister, who’d just awoken from a backseat snooze on the drive back to Chicago, what she wanted for our next Family Dinner, she suggested something along the lines of one of our healthiest Family Dinners yet: a soy-glazed salmon.

greeksalad2.jpeg

To appease our need for nutrients, I landed on a Salad Monday (technically, Salad Wednesday this week, but same idea) favorite: Greek salad. I like to think our Greek salad is a little bit special, thanks to the freshly toasted pita chips on the side or the addition of crunchy, smoky roasted chickpeas. And, brimming with vegetables and only a mere slick of dressing, this was just the detoxification we needed. With another holiday next Monday/Tuesday, I have a feeling that Salad Wednesday might have a repeat performance next week …



Greek Salad with Roasted Chickpeas

For the Salad:
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon cumin
pinch cayenne
salt and pepper, to taste
3 cups baby spinach
1/2 pint cherry or grape tomatoes, halved
2 to 3 ounces feta, crumbled
1/2 red onion, sliced in thin half-rings
1/2 English cucumber, diced

For the Dressing:
2 tablespoons of freshly-squeezed lemon juice
1 heaping teaspoon Dijon mustard
2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon fresh thyme, minced
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon cumin
salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat the oven to 425. Line a small baking sheet with aluminum foil. Combine 2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil, 1 teaspoon cumin, pinch of cayenne, salt and pepper in the bottom of a large bowl. Add the drained and rinsed chickpeas, tossing to coat. Spread the chickpeas on the prepared baking sheet and roast for 30 minutes, or until the chickpeas are browned and slightly crispy.
.
Meanwhile, whisk together the ingredients for the dressing in the bottom of a large salad bowl. Top the dressing with the spinach, tomatoes, feta, onions and cucumbers. When the chickpeas are toasted, add them to the salad bowl. Toss the salad, being sure to incorporate the dressing at the bottom of the bowl. Split the salad between two plates and serve.


4 Responses to “Post Holiday Detox”

  1. Emily Says:

    This salad was a huge hit! I would have never thought of putting all of these things together, so thank you for the inspiration. Jon described it as having all of the best things about a gyro and yet still fitting the “detox” requirement (that we desperately needed!). I have a feeling that this will become a staple…

  2. ourkitchensink Says:

    Emily: That’s great! I’m happy to hear that my favorite South Loop residents enjoyed this. Thanks for the feedback. See you soon!

  3. Maggie Says:

    This sounds delicious and I am pretty convinced chickpeas are my favorite food ever. And, as I cannot cook at all (well, that’s what I tell myself to excuse my ridiculous tendency to eat out), this looks very manageable! Matt has made an entire roasted chicken tonight so I think I need to step it up a bit in the cooking department. Hopefully a salad will suffice! Love the blog!

  4. ourkitchensink Says:

    Maggie: Hello! This salad seems to be a real hit with my friends. I seem to remember you hoarding the chickpeas from the salad bar in college … If you give this a try, let me know. And hurry back home to Chicago!


Leave a Reply

