In My Defense

December 21, 2008

rugelach

Did I say I was done with the holiday baking?  Well, whoops.  As it turns out, I was done with the Christmas baking.  Never—not once—did I mention Hanukkah baking, which, you know, is completely different.  So, I confess, we celebrated Hanukkah this weekend with Kevin’s family and I made rugelach.   (It just might be time for an intervention.  My name is Kristin and I cannot stop the holiday baking.  Surely there is a support group for this?)  I waffled between the recipe I used last year, a pinwheel recipe and a recipe by Dorie Greenspan.  In the end, the third of these won.  I couldn’t resist the traditional shape: cute little spiraled nuggets, fillings seeping out around the edges.

rugelach2
rugelach3

Into the cream cheese dough, I tucked apricot preserves, dried cranberries, chopped pecans and bits of bittersweet chocolate, but you should feel free to play around with the combination.  These cookies, old-timey and imperfect, are fun to make and even more fun to eat: what, with the flaky pastry and jammy, tart insides.  The bits of chocolate here and there don’t hurt either (and I know chocolate’s not traditional but Dorie said I could).  Because I’ve got about a billion things to do before we leave for Minnesota on Tuesday night (But no more baking.  Seriously.  I swear.), I’ll leave you with step-by-step photos after the jump:

rugelach4
rugelach5
rugelach6
rugelach7
rugelach8
rugelach9
rugelach10
rugelach11
rugelach12
rugelach13
rugelach14
rugelach15
rugelach16
rugelach18
rugelach19
rugelachlast

Rugelach
Adapted from Dorie Greenspan via NPR.org

Printable Recipe

For the Dough

4 ounces cold cream cheese, cut into 4 pieces
1 stick (8 tablespoons) cold unsalted butter, cut into 4 pieces
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup chopped pecans
1/4 cup dried cranberries
4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped

For the Glaze

1 large egg
1 teaspoon milk
2 tablespoons sugar in the raw

For the Filling

2/3 cup apricot jam or preserves
2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Makes 32 cookies

TO MAKE THE DOUGH: Let the cream cheese and butter rest on the counter for 10 minutes – you want them to be slightly softened but still cool.

Put the flour and salt in a food processor, scatter over the chunks of cream cheese and butter and pulse the machine 6 to 10 times. Then process, scraping down the sides of the bowl often, just until the dough forms large curds – don’t work it so long that it forms a ball on the blade.

Turn the dough out, gather it into a ball and divide it in half. Shape each half into a disk, wrap the disks in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, or up to 1 day. (Wrapped airtight, the dough can be frozen for up to 2 months.)

TO MAKE THE FILLING: Heat the jam in a saucepan over low heat, or do this in a microwave, until it liquefies. Mix the sugar and cinnamon together.

Line two baking sheets with parchment or silicone mats. (Silicone baking mats are great for rugelach.)

TO SHAPE THE COOKIES: Pull one packet of dough from the refrigerator. If it is too firm to roll easily, either leave it on the counter for about 10 minutes or give it a few bashes with your rolling pin.

On a lightly floured surface, roll the dough into an 11- to 12-inch circle. Spoon (or brush) a thin gloss of jam over the dough, and sprinkle over half of the cinnamon sugar. Scatter over half of the nuts, half of the currants and half of the chopped chocolate. Cover the filling with a piece of wax paper and gently press the filling into the dough, then remove the paper and save it for the next batch.

Using a pizza wheel or a sharp knife, cut the dough into 16 wedges, or triangles. (The easiest way to do this is to cut the dough into quarters, then to cut each quarter into 4 triangles.) Starting at the base of each triangle, roll the dough up so that each cookie becomes a little crescent. Arrange the roll-ups on one baking sheet, making sure the points are tucked under the cookies, and refrigerate. Repeat with the second packet of dough, and refrigerate the cookies for at least 30 minutes before baking. (The cookies can be covered and refrigerated overnight or frozen for up to 2 months; don’t defrost before baking, just add a couple of minutes to the baking time.)

GETTING READY TO BAKE: Position the racks to divide the oven into thirds and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

TO GLAZE: Stir the egg and water together, and brush a bit of this glaze over each rugelach. Sprinkle the cookies with the sugar.

Bake the cookies for 20 to 25 minutes, rotating the sheets from top to bottom and front to back at the midway point, until they are puffed and golden. Transfer the cookies to racks to cool to just warm or to room temperature.

SERVING: Tea is traditional, but we drink coffee with rugelach. These are pretty and, even with their jam-and-fruit filling, not overly sweet, and they are even good with sparkling wine.

STORING: The cookies can be kept covered at room temperature for up to 3 days or wrapped airtight and frozen for up to 2 months.


20 Responses to “In My Defense”

  1. Gena Says:

    Hmmmmmm….love those. Sad to be leaving for the holidays and thus not being the beneficiary of leftover savories. Would say that i will try and make them at home, but really will just wait for you to make them again and invite myself over.

  2. culinarycory Says:

    These look like they tasted great!


  3. Lovely job on these. I remember this recipe tasted so good. Especially the next day. Support group may be necessary soon. :)

  4. Maris Says:

    I see no reason to be done with holiday baking :o) Bring it on! YUM

  5. sue bette Says:

    ah! these are right up my alley & they look wonderful. I’ve just started following Dorie’s work and her recipes seem very approachable.

  6. Rachel M. Says:

    I made these this weekend too..

    I used seedless raspberry jelly and drizzled them with melted chocolate…

    since we can’t use nuts since my Cousin’s husband is gravely allergic…


  7. Yum … I wish I had some time to bake before Christmas. Ugh … time is SO not my friend right now.

    When you have a minute, come check out the award show on our blog – you are a recipient :-D

  8. Dawn in CA Says:

    Support group? No. Embrace the obsession. You know you want to.

  9. Kim Says:

    Oh.. I wanted to make these this year, they are my favorite! Alas, no time and the weather wasn’t cooperating. I did have time to make some spice cookies and the usual chocolate chip. Maybe next year!!

  10. radish Says:

    I am making them this week – I grew up eating them, but my grandmother used raisins, walnuts and apricot preserves, so that’s my childhood memory! these look delicious!! happy hannukah!

  11. megan Says:

    Your photos are simply mouthwatering. This sounds too good to pass up, I’m definitely bookmarking this for future reference. YUM!

  12. DD Says:

    Gorgeous photos! Never tasted or made that but looks incredible. Happy hanukkah!

  13. Lynna Says:

    That’s so funny I just found this recipe recently and have been thinking about making it. I love rugelah but the ones I’ve always liked I thought had a chocolate and walnut filling but I haven’t been able to find a recipe including that.

    How did the chocolate and jam combination work out taste-wise? They look beautiful!

  14. carolina Says:

    wow, great work. I love the pics. When I make these, I am gonna definitely use the pics. Awesome!

  15. Gigi Says:

    These are my mom’s favorite cookie! Happy New Year! BTW, the photos are stunning!

  16. ovenhaven Says:

    Hope you’re having a great holiday! I absolutely adore the step-by-step photos. I’ve always wanted to make rugelach, but never quite figured out the rolling bit, so thanks for the photos! :D


  17. If you’re making things like those cookies, you don’t need any excuse!


  18. Gena: I was wishing you were here too. I would’ve been interested to hear how you thought these compared to last year’s recipe. Hope you had a great trip!

    culinarycory: Thanks!

    Gretchen: Some truffles and lemon curd later, I have finally, finally gone cold turkey on this holiday baking business. Until next year … : )

    Maris: Now you’re talkin.

    sue bette: I find that her recipes always have the perfect amount of detail: enough to answer every concern or question but not so much to intimidate.

    Rachel M: I like the idea of melted chocolate. I bet they’re much easier to roll up with out the chunky fillings.

    Kristy: Thanks for the award!

    Dawn in CA: I so want to. And thus did. : )

    Kim: Never enough time, is there?

    radish: Kevin never ate these growing up, so, in our case, the chocolate helps. : )

    megan: Thanks!

    DD: Thank you!

    Lynna: Delicious.

    carolina: Thank you! Let us know how they turn out!

    Gigi: Happy New Year to you too!

    ovenhaven: I watched Martha Stewart make a similar recipe on TV. The visual really helps.

    healthy ashley: I agree.


  19. Beautiful! I got on a rugelach kick last year and made at least 10 batches to try out various recipes and flavor combinations…my co-workers were very happy. I love your photos…gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

