A Multi-Religious/Computer/Award Post

April 25, 2008

You might be asking yourself, what kind of girl posts a 100% leavened baked good recipe (Lemon-Strawberry Muffins) the day after bringing you a perfect-for-Passover macaroon recipe? Well, I’m here to tell you: a girl who lives in a multi-religious household, that’s who! And, I must admit, it’s a status I quite enjoy. I say: why bake only Christmas cookies, when you can bake rugelach too? Why stop at my family’s traditional Christmas Swedish Meatballs when latkes could be mine as well?

In addition to living in a multi-religious household, we’re living in a multi-computer household at the moment too. My poor laptop—the one that’s seen me through countless law school classes—is on its very last leg. Kevin’s laptop is shutting down too, so we added a new computer to the family last week (Kevin’s birthday!). Which is great and all, but I’m a creature of habit and the transition to newer-and-better has not been without its hiccups. Yesterday’s post, for instance, barely got up without tears (Kevin, please don’t disclose just how close we were to said tears). Upgrade, Shmupgrade.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

And, in the midst of the computer trials and tribulations with yesterday’s post, I completely forgot to thank Amy, hostess of the delicious, gorgeous blog Eggs on Sunday. She gave me a Blog of Distinction award on Wednesday and, really, I kind of wish I could turn around and give it right back to her. Amy’s the kind of gal who’s constantly cooking up food (fresh, hearty, inventive and beautiful) that makes me wish that upstate New York weren’t so far away, so I could try to win myself a dinner invitation. Alas, those aren’t the rules. So, instead, I get to spread the love!

Without further ado, I’m excited to give this award to: Robin from Caviar & Codfish, who’s not only far-from-a-Clumsy-Cook (the name of her blog, in its first incarnation) but also just the brand of cynical and hilarious that I love, and Amanda, at Slow Like Honey, who not only treats us to ooey, gooey delicious baked goods at an reliably regular rate, but also mixes in a hefty helping of pop culture. So thanks, Amy for the award. And thanks to Amanda and Robin for being such supportive, inspiring food bloggers.

Oh! And then there are these muffins, which, in addition to being leavened, are delicious. They’re completely lemon-infused, in the way that makes you wonder if, after just one more bite, you might actually find a ray of sun right there in the middle. And they’re studded with fresh strawberries, which not only up the prettiness with their magenta splotches, but also add a juicy moistness. If a season could be captured in a muffin, these would be spring in a muffin, for sure.

Lemon-Strawberry Muffins
Adapted from Eating Well Magazine

1 lemon
1⁄2 cup sugar
1 cup nonfat buttermilk
1/3 cup canola oil
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup white whole-wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1⁄4 teaspoon salt
1 1⁄2 cups fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced

Preheat oven to 400°F. Coat 12 large (1/2-cup) muffin cups with cooking spray or line with paper liners.

Use a vegetable peeler to remove the zest from the lemon in long strips. Combine the zest and sugar in a food processor; pulse until the zest is very finely chopped into the sugar. Add buttermilk, oil, egg and vanilla and pulse until blended.

Combine whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Add the buttermilk mixture and fold until almost blended. Gently fold in strawberries. Divide the batter among the muffin cups.

Bake the muffins until the edges and tops are golden, 20 to 25 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack. Serve warm.*

* Once completely cooled, they stored well in an airtight container, too.

8 Responses to “A Multi-Religious/Computer/Award Post”

  1. eggsonsunday Says:

    Gorgeous muffins, and well deserved, Kristin! :) Yes, too bad Chicago isn’t closer to upstate NY; you would definitely be invited for dinner (and I would try to score an invitation right back!) Good luck with the new computer. :)


  2. Our multi-religious household is a little bizarre this time of year, too. I’m a Cajun Mennonite married to a northeastern Jew (which sounds like a setup for a really horrible joke, I know). Therefore, we have lots of pork but no bread in the house this week.

    These muffins are definitely getting bookmarked for next weekend!

  3. Amanda Says:

    Ah Kristin you are much too kind. I liked your comment on the Dita post. It’s true, Dita ain’t got nothing on sugar-filled baked goods :)

  4. RecipeGirl Says:

    A well deserved award for sure! I love your blog.

    We love muffins- I did a strawberry lemon version recently too.

    I had to LOL at your multi-religious comments. I worked in a Jewish school for many years. I’m not Jewish, yet I know all the prayers and holidays, I’ve tasted every Jewish food offered, and I developed quite a fondness for Friday loaves of Challah :) There were many families at our school that were multi religion, so we had kids there celebrating Christmas right there along with Hannukkah.

  5. Whitney Says:

    My boyfriend’s computer also was on its last legs last week too. We are both law students as well. (at Kent) I wish I could find the time to cook/bake as often as you do! Which law school are you going to?


  6. Those muffins look delicious – I love the idea of blitzing the lemon zest and sugar together. I’m not in the slightest bit Jewish but I made Rugelach last Christmas and they will definitely be coming out again this year…soooo good… :)


  7. oooo. can’t wait to try this! x

  8. Robin Says:

    Thank you SO MUCH!! Really, this means so much to me, because I read your blog all the time and love it so much!!

    And GORGEOUS muffins, love the pics!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

