Green & Yellow Bean Salad

March 14, 2008

beansalad1.jpg

Summer? Yooooohoooooo? I know you’re out there. But I would like you to come sooner. I know, I know. I’m skipping right over the whole spring thing. But this week’s back-to-back-to-back forty-degree days, have got me greedy. So, we—my husband, my sister and I—decided to engage in a little make believe. For this week’s Family Dinner, we unsheathed our grill. That’s right, Kevin chipped off the stubborn bits of ice clinging to the grill, untethered its wind-whipped cover, and creaked open our grill, which has sadly not seen any action since the last vestiges of fall.

beansalad2.jpg

beansalad3.jpg

beansalad4.jpg

beansalad5.jpg

I guess the aforementioned forty-degree weather and the new extended version of daylight (thank you, thank you daylight savings; I think I might looooove you) had us feeling a little more May than March. And on this little defying-reality-bent, we decided that grilled turkey burgers would be an excellent choice for an early March meal. And, while we were at it, I went looking for a summer-ish side dish to round out the fantasy.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

beansalad6.jpg

Enter: green & yellow bean salad with cherry tomatoes and basil. Yep, I’m pretty sure all four components I just mentioned are months from showing up under tents in our local farmers market or appearing in a weekly CSA box (goal for this summer!) or, heck, even being the weekly value offering at the Jewel. But, you know what, sometimes you need a little pretending to tide you over until summer’s produce bounty is really here. And this salad was just the summery rainbow of colors and burst of balmy flavors that we needed. Now, we can retreat to our seasonal eating ways, reducing our carbon footprints until summer finally (finally) rolls around. Sigh.

Green Bean, Yellow Bean & Cherry Tomato Salad
Bon Appetit

3/4 pound green beans, trimmed
3/4 pound yellow wax beans, trimmed

3 cups cherry tomatoes (about 14 ounces), halved
1 medium-size red onion, thinly sliced
1/2 cup thinly sliced fresh basil
5 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1/4 teaspoon sugar

Cook all beans in large pot of boiling salted water until crisp-tender, about 5 minutes. Drain; rinse with cold water and drain well. (Can be prepared 1 day ahead. Pat dry, then wrap in paper towels. Enclose in plastic bag and refrigerate.)

Combine beans, tomatoes, onion and basil in serving bowl. Whisk oil, vinegar and sugar in small bowl to blend. Season dressing with salt and pepper. Add dressing to vegetables; toss to coat. Cover; chill at least 1 hour and up to 4 hours, tossing occasionally. Serve salad cold or at room temperature.

 

 

3 Responses to “Green & Yellow Bean Salad”

  1. RecipeGirl Says:

    Fresh and delicious looking! We’re already getting summer-like weather around here and some great veggies in our Farmer’s Markets. I’ve even already done all of my garden planting (San Diego.) Lucky we are!

  2. maggie Says:

    This looks amazing! I just had a moment where I realised (sorry for the s!) how great it was to be in london dreainess rather than chicago freezing. Thank you again for all the amazing food! I promise to learn to cook and make it up to you…soon…

  3. Olga Says:

    Super pretty pictures! Love step by step images


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

