Whole Wheat Pita Bread

March 3, 2008

pitas12.jpg

I tinkered with the idea of doing a post today about Pulaski Day, a wholly Chicago holiday. All my friends from college who grew up in Chicago used to talk wistfully of the holiday. For one reason: growing up, this holiday awarded them with a day off from school. Apparently, schools have scaled back on that perk, but it’s still a government holiday. In honor of Casimir’s big day, I considered making Polish specialties like stuffed cabbage or pierogi. But, instead of making either of those two stuffed dishes, I made something decidedly unstuffed instead. I baked pita bread, known, of course, for it’s vacuous middle.

pitas1.jpg

pitas3.jpg

pitas4.jpg

pitas5.jpg

pitas6.jpg

pitas7.jpg

pitas8.jpg

pitas10.jpg

So, today it’s going to be less Pulaski and more pita. And, about baking pita bread, can I just say: cool. The whole process is not unlike baking any old loaf of bread. You proof the yeast, you let the dough rise, you knead. But, instead of a dense, solid loaf, you end up with puffed rounds. You place full moons of two-dimensional dough on your oven rack and, presto, you open the door a mere three (!) minutes later to find swollen, entirely three-dimensional breads. It’s as though little elves have injected each round with a poof of hot air.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

pitas11.jpg

And not only are the rounds inflated, but they are irresitably golden. I’ll warn you now: they will softly urge you to tear into them, exposing their spacious pockets and emitting a tendril of steam. And the hot, still pliant flesh will implore you to tear off a ragged piece, swipe it through a pool of extra-virgin olive oil and savor each chewy bite. Um. Or, at least that’s what happened to me.

pitas13.jpg

And after you have snapped out of this reverie (which might cost you a couple pitas, so plan accordingly), you will start to scheme about what you can tuck inside your fresh pitas. Your mind might wander from thoughts of piping hot falafel swathed in creamy hummus to visions of roasted vegetables, mixed with crumbled feta. But, if you’re like me, you will ultimately settle on your most favorite sandwich ingredients: thinly shaved turkey, the sharpest cheddar, spicy arugula and slivers of red onion. Heaven.

pitas2.jpg

Whole Wheat Pita Bread
Gourmet

1 (1/4-oz) package active dry yeast (2 1/2 teaspoons)
1 teaspoon honey
1 1/4 cups warm water (105-115°F)
2 cups bread flour or high-gluten flour, plus additional for kneading
1 cup whole-wheat flour
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
Cornmeal for sprinkling baking sheets

Stir together yeast, honey, and 1/2 cup warm water in a large bowl, then let stand until foamy, about 5 minutes. (If mixture doesn’t foam, discard and start over with new yeast.)

While yeast mixture stands, stir together flours in another bowl. Whisk 1/2 cup flour mixture into yeast mixture until smooth, then cover with plastic wrap and let stand in a draft-free place at warm room temperature until doubled in bulk and bubbly, about 45 minutes. Stir in oil, salt, remaining 3/4 cup warm water, and remaining 2 1/2 cups flour mixture until a dough forms.

Turn out dough onto a floured surface and knead, working in just enough additional flour to keep dough from sticking, until dough is smooth and elastic, 8 to 10 minutes. Form dough into a ball and put in an oiled large bowl, turning to coat. Cover bowl with plastic wrap and let dough rise in draft-free place at warm room temperature until doubled in bulk, about 1 hour.

Punch down dough and cut into 8 pieces. Form each piece into a ball. Flatten 1 ball, then roll out into a 6 1/2- to 7-inch round on floured surface with a floured rolling pin. Transfer round to 1 of 2 baking sheets lightly sprinkled with cornmeal. Make 7 more rounds in same manner, arranging them on baking sheets. Loosely cover pitas with 2 clean kitchen towels (not terry cloth) and let stand at room temperature 30 minutes.

Set oven rack in lower third of oven and remove other racks. Preheat oven to 500°F.

Transfer 4 pitas, 1 at a time, directly onto oven rack. Bake until just puffed and pale golden, about 2 minutes. Turn over with tongs and bake 1 minute more. Cool pitas on a cooling rack 2 minutes, then stack and wrap loosely in a kitchen towel to keep pitas warm. Bake remaining 4 pitas in same manner. Serve warm.

16 Responses to “Whole Wheat Pita Bread”

  1. a. grace Says:

    bless you, bless you, bless you. and bless you.

    i’m currently OBSESSED with pitas but all the recipes i’ve tried have been extremely disappointing. it’s crushing when you put so much time and effort into something and get no puffing in return. crushing.

    if i can get my pitas to end up looking like yours, i suspect i’ll have finally found a winner. thanks so much for sharing!

  2. RecipeGirl Says:

    What a great accomplishment- pita is on my list of things I want to try someday. Very nice post!!


  3. I have never thought possible making pita bread at home… I want that sandwich for lunch, please! :)

  4. Abby Carden Says:

    I love this blog…Thanks Kristin!


  5. I am thrilled about the thought of trying to make these. Thank you!!!

  6. charlotte s Says:

    wow! these look amazing! my husband LOVES pita- now youve inspired me to try a homebaked version!

  7. ourkitchensink Says:

    A. Grace: I probably would’ve cried if they hadn’t inflated. But, then, I nearly cried (in a good way) when they did! Do try these …

    RecipeGirl: Thank you!

    Patricia: It’s cruel to post photos of turkey sandwiches once everyone’s already packed their lunches, isn’t it?

    Abby: Good to hear from you! Maggie’s on quite a publicity blitz for this blog. Hope you’re doing well.

    Gretchen: I hope you try them. Let me know how it goes, if you do!

    Charlotte S: Thanks!

  8. Kelly Says:

    I just found your blog, and can I say, you clearly have a love of food! What a well-written post! I may just have to try these… maybe tonight while I’m making meatballs.

  9. JEP Says:

    Your photos are the best!

  10. ourkitchensink Says:

    Kelly: Thank you so much. Did you give these a try? Do tell …

    JEP: Thank you!

  11. Evan Says:

    These were SO good… after making them last night I made a promise to myself that I will never buy pitas again. So easy.

  12. ourkitchensink Says:

    Evan: I’m so glad you had success with them!

  13. Kelly Says:

    I did end up making these over the weekend, and they turned out pretty good. Mine didn’t puff up very much, but I also was too cheap/lazy to buy bread flour, and I suspect that was my problem. They sure were yummy, though! Easy, too. Just time-consuming, as all yeasty things are. So much better than store-bought pitas. Like Evan, I agree… never again (on the store bought ones).

    I had some troubles flipping them (and not tearing while doing so) – any suggestions?

  14. ourkitchensink Says:

    Hmmm, I didn’t have any problem flipping mine. You might try letting them go a minute longer on each side. That might help them release from the oven rack more easily (and might help with the puffing issue too). Let me know if you re-try. Thanks for reporting back!

  15. chefsquire Says:

    I made these yesterday and just posted them to my blog (with credit to you). Thanks for sharing this recipe!


  16. chefsquire: They look great!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

