Convincing My Sister To Thaw Out

February 15, 2008

potsticker10.jpg

I think I have been giving my sister short shrift in this blog of mine. I’ve cavalierly made her out to be a one-dish-woman. I’ve painted you a picture of the kind of twenty-something who makes Lean Cuisines. And, Lean Cuisines only. Well, it’s time to set the record straight.

potsticker1.jpg

potsticker2.jpg

potsticker3.jpg

potsticker11.jpg

potsticker4.jpg

potsticker5.jpg

That’s right. My sister’s cooking repertoire might start with Lean Cuisines, but it doesn’t end there. She apparently makes a mean frozen pot sticker too. I say “apparently” because, as I understand it, the pot stickers are not a delicacy that she cooks up at an hour at which I’m awake. “Apparently” they are more of a 2 a.m. kind of thing. (3 a.m.? 4 a.m.? All I know is that I am fast, fast asleep when she busts those babies out of the freezer and into the skillet.)

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

potsticker7.jpg

Really, this is no way to talk about my only sister. No way to disparage the gal who surprised me yesterday with a completely unexpected Valentine’s Day gift (a subscription to Cook’s Illustrated, no less!). In truth, her cooking prowess has grown by leaps and bounds of late. But, since she has held strong to her Lean-Cuisine-and-Frozen-Pot-Stickers ways, I jumped at the chance to make homemade pot stickers for our latest installment of Family Dinner.

potsticker6.jpg

True, these pot stickers are not nearly as easy as pulling open a Costco-sized bag of frozen pot stickers. But, could they be any more fun to assemble? I’ve mentioned before my love of the assembly line, so this is pretty much my ideal recipe. More than that, these pot stickers accomplished my mission of showing Ali that very, very tasty pot stickers hail from places other than the frozen foods aisle. Oh, and they were cute. So, there’s that.

potsticker9.jpg

Pork & Shrimp Pot Stickers
Cooking Light

1 cup chopped napa (Chinese) cabbage
1 cup chopped spinach
1/4 cup minced green onions
1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce
1 teaspoon minced peeled fresh ginger
1/2 teaspoon dark sesame oil
Dash of white pepper
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/3 pound lean ground pork
1/4 pound peeled and deveined shrimp, chopped
24 round wonton wrappers or gyoza skins
1 tablespoon canola oil, divided
2 cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth, divided
Green onion strips (optional)

Combine first 10 ingredients in a bowl. Working with 1 wonton wrapper at a time (cover the remaining wrappers with a damp towel to prevent drying), spoon about 1 heaping teaspoon filling into the center of each wrapper. Moisten edges of wrapper with water. Fold in half, pinching the edges together to seal. Holding the sealed edges of the pot sticker between the thumb and first two fingers of each hand, form 3 to 4 pleats along the seal. Place dumpling, seam side up, on a platter. Repeat with remaining filling and wrappers to form 24 pot stickers.

Heat 1 1/2 teaspoons canola oil in a large nonstick skillet.

Arrange 12 pot stickers, seam sides up, in pan, and cook for 30 seconds or until browned. Add 1 cup of chicken broth to pan; cover and cook 5 minutes. Uncover and cook about 1 minute or until liquid evaporates. Remove the pot stickers from pan; cover and keep warm. Repeat procedure with the remaining 1 1/2 teaspoons canola oil, 12 pot stickers, and 1 cup of broth. Garnish with green onion strips, if desired. Serve immediately.

Note on Yield: I got at least 3 dozen pot stickers (as opposed to the 2 dozen the recipe said it would yield) from the filling. I froze a bunch of them (pre-cooking) and sent them home with Ali. You know, for the next time a 3 AM urge rolls around ….

 

6 Responses to “Convincing My Sister To Thaw Out”


  1. These have made me drool and I don’t even eat pork! :)

  2. RecipeGirl Says:

    There’s something terribly satisfying about the whole process of making potstickers! These look great :)

  3. Brynn Says:

    I really might have to make these tonight (though probably a turkey/pork version – no shrimp for me). They look delicious. What did you do for a dipping sauce?

  4. Karina Says:

    Those look delicious! My 16-year old sister is coming to stay with me for a week soon, and I’ve been looking for recipes that I could make with her. I’m trying to get her excited about cooking, and this looks like fun!

  5. ourkitchensink Says:

    Patricia: Thanks! And I bet ground turkey would be great in place of pork.

    RecipeGirl: Thank you! And, yes, satisfying is a good word for it.

    Brynn: Thanks! They’ll be fine without shrimp. As for dipping sauce, I got a little lazy and didn’t write down the ingredients, but it was just soy, lime juice, chili flakes and scallions. Let me know how it goes!

    Karina: A perfect project. I have great memories of stuffing wontons with my mom when I was growing up. So fun.

  6. Hairy Weisenheimmer Says:

    They look great!
    See my own Pot Sticker adventure here;

    http://hairyweisenheimmer.wordpress.com/2008/02/12/chef-wiesenheimmer-pot-stickers/.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

