Feels Like Negative 21 Degrees

February 11, 2008

potatosalad2.jpg

Do you know that feature on weather.com that tells you what the temperature “feels like”? If not, I’m sorry for calling it to your attention. Because all it does is make an already intolerably cold day seem completely unbearable. Like this morning, for instance, when I checked the weather at the last second before we left for the grocery store (okay, fine, grocery stores, Kevin). I was wondering if I needed to go full bore, with hat, scarf, gloves and boots. As if the 2 degrees weren’t answer enough, weather.com taunted me with a “feels like” negative 21 degrees.

potatosalad3.jpg

I mean, are you serious, Mother Nature? Sure, I can deal with the fact that Good Old Punxsawtaney Phil has bestowed six more weeks of winter on us. But does it have to be this particularly cruel, bitter form of winter? Quite simply, I object. And, on Saturday night, I objected via our meal choice. We cooked up a meal that would have been wonderful on a July evening. One that conjured visions of sunshine and beers and rooftop decks.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

potatosalad4.jpg

The main dish of the feast is the subject of a soon-to-come post, so I’ll have to keep you in the dark on that for now. But, I’ll have you know that it was all for Kevin, because I am just that kind. And in another hint, I’ll tell you that this side dish—a potato salad, with green beans and a piquant rather than creamy dressing, made the perfect partner for the meal’s meaty centerpiece. Any guesses as to the main dish?

Garlicky Green Bean-Potato Salad
Cooking Light

1 1/2 pounds yellow Finnish potatoes or red potatoes*
3/4 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
2 cups (1/2-inch) cut green beans (about 1/2 pound)
10 garlic cloves, peeled
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper

Cut potatoes into quarters. Cut each piece into 1/2-inch-thick slices. Pour 3/4 cup broth into bottom of a 6-quart pressure cooker**; layer the potatoes, green beans, and garlic in cooker. Close lid securely; bring to high pressure over high heat (about 9 minutes). Adjust heat to low or level needed to maintain high pressure; cook 3 minutes. Remove from heat; place pressure cooker under cold running water. Remove lid.

Drain potato mixture in a colander, reserving garlic cloves; place potato mixture in a large bowl. Combine reserved garlic cloves, vinegar, and remaining ingredients in a blender, and process until smooth. Drizzle the garlic dressing over potato mixture; toss gently to coat.

* I used a combination of small red, white and purple potatoes.
** In lieu of a pressure cooker, I just boiled the potatoes, beans and garlic. Once the water came to a boil, I added the potatoes and let them cook for 5 minutes. Then I added the beans and garlic and let them all cook for another 5 minutes.

 

2 Responses to “Feels Like Negative 21 Degrees”

  1. brilynn Says:

    Oh I know that feature all too well, this morning it read: -19, feels like -27. Ugh.
    Wiarton Willie proclaimed an early spring, so I’m going with him…

  2. ourkitchensink Says:

    Brilynn: Okay, I had to Wikipedia Wiarton Willie, but if I’m happy to jump on his bandwagon if his prediction is more kind!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

