Day Late, Dollar Short

February 8, 2008

pancakes5.jpeg

Folks, I dropped the ball. I missed the memo. My ship has sailed. Apparently, Tuesday was National Pancake Day. Who knew? Well, clearly, I did not know. Because I had these photos of the pancakes we made last weekend stored up in the to-blog-about-soon queue. Had I only known, I would’ve posted on this recipe on Sunday or Monday, so you could make these pancakes for the NPD celebrations that surely ensued in homes across America on Tuesday. Or, at the very least, I would’ve posted them on Tuesday, in honor of the hallowed holiday.

pancakes4.jpeg

But, alas, I was in the dark. And these pancakes languished on my hard drive. And, sadly, National Pancake Day has come and gone. But, come on, isn’t every day—or, more accurately, every weekend day—national pancake day? In my book, it is.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos & the recipe.)

pancakes6.jpeg

And, once you try these pancakes, I think you’ll agree. While they might look like the traditional buttermilk disks that you typically douse with maple syrup, these are different. And, I think, much better. They’re moist (even without a deluge of syrup) and hearty (so they won’t disintegrate when you inevitably do drown them in syrup). And they have an earthy, nutty and ever-so-slightly tangy flavor.

pancakes1.jpeg

With many of the pancakes I see on brunch menus descending into overly-sweet and ornate creations (like the pancake “orgy” at one of my favorite breakfast places), these are a welcome return to the homey. And they were incredibly satisfying and filling. We had a lunch all lined up, but neither of us were hungry for hours. I hope they keep you satisfied too the next time you’re celebrating an unofficial national pancake day.

pancakes3.jpeg

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes
Gourmet

3/4 cup quick-cooking oats
1 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons well-shaken buttermilk, divided
3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon grated nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 large egg, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1 tablespoon packed brown sugar

Accompaniment: sliced bananas

Soak oats in 3/4 cup buttermilk 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in a large bowl.

Stir egg, butter, brown sugar, remaining 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk, and oat mixture into dry ingredients until just combined.

Heat a griddle over medium heat until hot and lightly brush with oil. Working in batches, pour 1/4 cup batter per pancake onto griddle and cook until bubbles appear on surface and undersides are golden-brown, about 1 minute. Flip with a spatula and cook other side, about 1 minute more. (Lightly oil griddle between batches.)

 

18 Responses to “Day Late, Dollar Short”

  1. amanda Says:

    I whipped up some pancakes too last weekend, and didn’t even now about National Pancake Day, so my post was a day late also. Your plate of pancakes looks really hearty and filling. Mine were like a sugarholics dream :) I will definitely give yours a try as these look like yummy every day treats, not dessert lie ones I’m prone to make.


  2. Never mind the deadline – these are great anytime!

  3. a. grace Says:

    what’s a pancake without that inevitable deluge of syrup?
    disappointing, that’s what it is.

  4. JEP Says:

    I like the sounds of all these healthy ingredients!


  5. Looks good…and it’s great that they stay moist! ;)

  6. ourkitchensink Says:

    Amanda: I saw yours — they looked delicious!

    Patricia: Agreed!

    A. Grace: I second that!

    JEP: Such a hearty, wholesome breakfast.

    Made Healthier: Thanks!

  7. Snwobug Says:

    Entire family loved these. Hearty, not too dense. Very little syrup needed. Note that I didn’t say “used”. Just “needed”. We used LOTS of syrup!

    Thanks.

  8. ourkitchensink Says:

    Snwobug: Oh good! Thanks for reporting back. And, as far as I’m concerned, keep the maple syrup a-pourin …

  9. Andrea Says:

    i whipped up some of these this morning for valentines breakfast. my boy doesn’t like bananas so I topped them with lemon curd and strawberries. delicious!

  10. April in CT Says:

    We’ve made these twice now and they are officially our new favorite pancake recipe! I’m thrilled to find a whole wheat recipe that doesn’t turn out dry and crumbly. These will definitely be an every weekend breakfast for us and me and my husband thank you for posting it. :)

  11. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    Andrea: Lemon curd?!? Brilliant!

    April: I’m so glad you like them! Thanks for reporting back.

  12. Daisy Says:

    I made these for dinner tonight from a friend suggestion. OMG they were sooooo good….perfect.
    You have to try these…now i have a 5lb bag of whole wheat flour, I’ll be cooking these again for sure.

  13. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    Daisy: I love breakfast for dinner! And check out the recipe index on this site for lots of ideas for that 5 pounds of whole wheat flour. I go through my supply at an alarming rate.

  14. Christine Says:

    There is a national pancake day?

  15. christine Says:

    These were delicious! Thanks for the recipe!

  16. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    christine: I’m so glad you liked them! Thanks for reporting back.

  17. April in CT Says:

    Just thought I’d let you know we’re still enjoying these and I pass the recipe on to everyone! We had family visiting for two weeks and I made these a LOT. We picked some blueberries on a hike and made blueberry pancakes with this recipe and they were divine. Most times I’ll mix the buttermilk/oat mixture and the dry ingredients (separately) and pop them into the fridge the night before. It makes an already easy recipe pretty mindless when I have groggy morning brain. :)


  18. April: That’s great to hear! And you’re reminding me I need to make this recipe again soon. Fresh-picked blueberries sound like a delicious (and fun! I love berry picking) addition.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

