Double Dare Ravioli

January 13, 2008

ravioli9.jpeg

Fresh off the heels of one kitchen rectification, I’ve already got another one to share with you. It’s been a big couple days for me—as far as conquering kitchen demons go. And while I attribute the caramel success to a very helpful commenter to this blog, I attribute this latest success to a double dare. Practically a double dog dare.

ravioli1.jpeg

You see, I’ve made it no secret that homemade pasta has been my Achilles heel. And, truth be told, I really had no serious intention of doing anything about it. But, this weekend, we didn’t have much going on and I started to think about it.

ravioli2.jpeg

While it was still just a teensy, tiny idea in the back of my mind, I mentioned to my friend Brynn (an excellent cook) that it might be time to give it another go. She responded by telling me she had complete confidence in me. Do you know why, dear readers? Oh, because—as she went on to tell me—she used to make it all the time. When she was a little girl. Usually when her parents left her alone with a babysitter. She then proceeded to spout off the perfect ratio of ingredients from memory. So, as I said, I was essentially double dared by the 7-year-old version of my friend to make pasta. In my mind’s eye, she was actually sticking her thumbs in the ears, waggling her fingers, and sticking out her tongue at me.

(Click “more” for the rest of the story, more photos and the recipe)

ravioli3.jpeg

Needless to say, Kevin and I made a trip to Williams-Sonoma to buy a pasta roller. After the last debacle we had with a KitchenAid attachment, I was taking no risks. We were going old school. I’m talking clamp it on the counter, churn it out by hand, no bells and whistles. And, can I just quickly tell you, this pasta roller is already giving my last kitchen crush a run for its money. It’s so retro and utilitarian, with a sassy splash of red. I love it.

ravioli5.jpeg

Okay—back to the pasta. I’ve carved out several afternoons and evenings in the past to give it a shot. It’s always started the same: mound up flour, form a well in the middle and crack eggs into the well. And, each time, I’ve started to feel confident as my fork pulls the outer edges of the flour-well into the yellow pool of eggs. The dough forms and I get to knead it (an activity I’ve mentioned too many times that I quite enjoy). And I’ve ended up with a perfectly smooth, dense ball of dough tinged with a palest yellow.

ravioli4.jpeg

But when it comes time to roll out and shape the dough, things begin to fall apart. I’ve ended up with pasta that’s too thick, too thin or just downright weird. But, this time, I had my new roller. And despite the fact that it took well over two hours to make a pound of pasta’s worth of ravioli, I finally had sweet success.

ravioli10.jpeg

The roller churned out sheets of pasta that were supple, velvety and nearly translucent. Using a fluted cutter, I cut the sheets into ravioli. And I tucked into each ravioli one of two fillings: a combination of spicy Italian sausage, Swiss Chard, ricotta and pecorino for Kevin and an earthy puree of roasted beets and ricotta for myself. Both fillings were delicious. And the pasta was, well, very, very good pasta. The meal was so good it had me excited to make pasta again (the next time I have a spare six hours), trying new shapes, fillings and sauces. Or maybe it’s just that I want to pull out the new pasta roller again. Or maybe, just maybe, it’s Brynn’s double dare still lingering in the back of my head.

ravioli11.jpeg

Pasta

3 cups flour
4 eggs
1 tablespoon olive oil

Mound the flour on a work surface, creating a well in the middle deep enough to hold four eggs. Crack the eggs into the well. Using a fork, begin to lightly beat the eggs and then to gradually pull the inner edges of the flour-well into the eggs. Continue pulling the flour into the eggs until a wet dough forms.

ravioli8.jpeg

Once a wet dough forms, begin to knead the dough for several minutes on a lightly floured work surface. If the dough is very sticky, add additional flour in very small amounts as necessary. After you have kneaded the dough for a total of about six minutes, you should have a smooth, elastic ball of dough. Cover the dough with plastic wrap and let it rest for at least 20 minutes.

ravioli14.jpeg

Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and very lightly dust with flour. Divide the dough into six even pieces, removing one to work with first. Cover the remaining dough pieces in plastic wrap, to prevent them from drying out. Roll out the piece of dough you are working with on a lightly-floured work surface until it is thin enough to feed through the rollers at their widest setting.

ravioli6.jpeg

From there, follow your roller’s directions to roll out the piece of dough to the thinnest setting your pasta roller allows. (I ended up with sheets that were about three feet long.) Cut the sheet in half lengthwise. One of half-sheet, use the dull side of a 3-inch fluted cutter to make indentations along the sheet, leaving about a half-inch between indentations. Fill each circle with about a tablespoon of the filling of your choice (see below for recipes). Using a pastry brush lightly moistened with water, brush around each of the circles. Cover the sheet topped with the filling with the un-used half sheet.

ravioli7.jpeg

Using the dull side of a 2-inch fluted cutter, lightly press the top sheet onto the bottom sheet around each mound of filling. This will help press out all the air and seal the ravioli. Using the sharp side of the 3-inch cutter, cut out each ravioli, centering the filling. If necessary, press the edges to seal the ravioli and transfer them to the lined baking sheets. Repeat with the remaining five sections of dough.

ravioli13.jpeg

Bring a pot of salted water to a rapid boil. Place the ravioli in the boiling water, being careful not to crowd the pot. Boil for several minutes, until the ravioli become translucent and al dente. Repeat with the remaining ravioli and serve with a sauce of your choice.

Ravioli Genovese Filling
Mario Batali via Food Network’s Web Site

1 pound Italian sausage, without fennel seeds, cooked, crumbled and drained
2 cups Swiss chard, cooked, drained and chopped
1 cup ricotta
1 cup grated Pecorino
3 eggs
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
salt and pepper

In a bowl, combine the cooked sausage, chopped chard, ricotta, Pecorino, eggs and nutmeg and season with salt and pepper. Note: this recipe for filling will yield enough to fill an entire recipe for pasta dough above. If you’re going to use two different fillings, as I did, halve this recipe.

Roasted Beet and Ricotta Ravioli Filling

1 pound beets, trimmed and scrubbed
1 cup ricotta
salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 425°. Wrap the beets in aluminum foil, place on a baking sheet and roast for 40 to 45 minutes, until the beets are as tender as a baked potato. Remove the beets from their wrapping, using tongs and oven mitts, and place in a large bowl. Mash the beets with a potato masher or fork, until they are smooth. Let the beets cool to room temperature. Once the beets have cooled, add the ricotta and season with salt and pepper. Note: this recipe for filling will yield enough to fill an entire recipe for pasta dough above. If you’re going to use two different fillings, as I did, halve this recipe.

14 Responses to “Double Dare Ravioli”

  1. Brynn Says:

    Sweet success! These ravioli look delicious – perhaps I’ll have to ask my parents to send out the old pasta maker so that I can get back in action. I love the idea of the beet filling. I never would have thought of that but it sounds so perfect (and pretty!).

  2. ourkitchensink Says:

    Brynn: Thank you! And thanks for the nudge too. If you ever want to borrow my pasta maker, I might be able to part with it. Once the new kitchen gadget crush passes, of course.

  3. judithgr Says:

    What a champ! Most start with tortellini, but you jumped right into ravioli. With practice it’s quicker.

  4. ourkitchensink Says:

    Judith: Thank you! The learning curve does seem to be very steep. With each successive batch of dough I rolled and cut, it got continually quicker. The second batch took at most half as long as the first. I’ll have to do it again soon, so I’m not starting from scratch again next time.

  5. Paul Says:

    I applaud you for making these ravioli! They look wonderful and tasty. And I know it must have been HARD WORK!!!

  6. ourkitchensink Says:

    Paul: Thank you! It was indeed hard work, but — all in all — I’d say it was worth it.

  7. Deborah Says:

    I have just found your blog via tastespotting, and I love it!! Your photos are amazing, and the food you make is spectacular. I will be browsing through your site!

  8. ourkitchensink Says:

    Deborah: Thank you so much! I’m so glad you like the food and photos — many of which are also taken by my husband (evidenced by all the photos of me in this post using both of my hands!).

  9. Steph Says:

    I am planning on using your recipe to make some pasta of my own! I was wondering where you bought the fluted cutter? I have only been able to find one online at sur la table, but was planning on buying the pasta roller from williams and sonoma because it looks great and is one of the cheapest i’ve found. Anyways I was hoping to buy from the same site.

  10. ourkitchensink Says:

    Steph: The cutters are a very old set from my mom. A quick search on Amazon shows that they sell both the Imperia pasta roller and various fluted cutter sets. That might be a good option. Good luck with the pasta! Let me know how it goes.

  11. Shin Says:

    I must say, these really look outstanding.
    A few facts, in case you were interested (Italian and Genoese, to the core, yes I am):
    1-I’ve never heard of oil in pasta dough, be it of the filled variety, or simply tagliatelle. You seem to be doing everything right, making a well and cracking the eggs in, kneading. Good. Then, let it rest for at least an hour, at room temperature, covered with a damp towel (if the weather seems too dry). This is really a must-do, it allows the dough to develop the right texture to be worked and stretched easily, both by rolling pin and pasta machine. As far as I can remember, my grannies and mother always left it on the kitchen table and forgot about it. Actually, I don’t really know anybody who sidesteps the resting time oO; .
    2-the original Genoese pasta dough is quite poor: no eggs, only water and, optionally, dry white wine, although nowadays you might find an egg or two thrown in sometimes. The only time we (my family) use eggs, is when we make lasagne or cannelloni, which specifically call for an egg-based pasta dough (and that’s because they’re not originary from Genoa!). I myself make a richer version (4 eggs max for 500g flour, about 3 1/2 cups) for ravioli as well only for XMas or such.
    In Emilia-Romagna the standard recipe calls for 1 egg every 100g of flour: as you see, it really depends on the region.
    3-the filling:salsiccia is really more of a Piedmontese filling, I’ve only see it used by the Piedmontese half of my family. The Genoese sort usually includes part of the meat leftover from making the tomato sauce that will go with the pasta. It’s called Tuccu [tukku], and basically you have to roast a big chunk of beef (my granma would kill me if she were to read this) in tomato sauce for a long time. That way you’ll have the sauce, the filling AND the meat, all in one go (add sugar and there you have dessert, too. J/K).
    Pecorino cheese is way too strong, especially one whole cup of it. If you can get your hands on it, switch for Parmigiano. For the amounts you use, 3/4 cup should be more than enough, it’s just there to compliment the other ingredients, not to bash them around.
    The best Genoese ravioli are made using a herb called Boraggine or Boraxe [boraʃe], but that’s hardly found anymore and all but unknown outside Liguria. :(
    Oh, and if you can find a dash of marjoram, be it dry or fresh, GO FOR IT. It’s divine in any sort of filling. And in frittata.

    Sorry, it turned out so long!
    Probably it won’t apply to all Genoese cooks out there, it’s just what I know and have seen my other friends do, and they in turn learnt from their granmas.
    Hope it entertained you, if nothing else :D

  12. Kristin at The Kitchen Sink Says:

    Shin: You’ve definitely entertained (and informed!) me. Thanks for leaving the comment.

  13. Kathy Walker Says:

    I recently made the switch to kitchenaid pasta roller instead of the hand crank – crank kept falling out onto the floor! I watched some videos on internet using kitchenaid and I was sold. I really love it, maybe you just need to practice on it.
    I, too, let the dough rest, wrapped in plastic wrap, on counter for about an hour. I’m going to try your ravioli recipes — so far, have just made with ricotta/spinach filling.

  14. monumentallybusy Says:

    Your pasta looks delicious!!! And props to the photographer of all your food.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

